Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
09-29-2013, 11:39 AM (This post was last modified: 09-30-2013 02:14 AM by Blood_Ninja.)
Post: #1
Wink QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
*I can't find a proper place to put this, so I'm currently making this thread in General. Admins/mods can freely move this thread to a more proper subforum if applicable.*

https://code.google.com/p/qeffects-gl/

QeffectsGL: Graphic Mod for OpenGL-based Games (Windows only)

What is QueffectsGL?
OpenGL pseudo-driver that adds some graphical enhancements to OpenGL-based games. You should place opengl32.dll and QeffectsGL.ini to the game executable's directory before running the game. If the game has multiple renderers available (e.g. Half-Life, Unreal), OpenGL renderer must be switched to.
Effects:
  • Anisotropic texture filtering*
  • Full-screen antialiasing (MSAA)*
  • HSL color correction
  • Screen-space emboss bump-mapping
  • Screen-space ambient occlusion
  • Bloom
  • Depth of Field**

* - can be also enabled in display driver's settings (e.g. NVIDIA Control Panel). But it is also added to QeffectsGL for convenience.
** - DoF effect is disabled by default. To activate it, set "DOF" parameter to 1 in the INI file.

although according to the website it only supports games like CS1.6, Doom3, HL, Quake 3, etc., it now works with PPSSPP (in earlier builds it did not, probably due to a different OpenGL api version was used in earlier builds, but idk)

for those who are wondering why its kinda familiar, its because it was mentioned from http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=2379.

and like ENB, you can tweak it to your liking. Download on the website link above or from the attachment I posted. Have fun Big Grin

to install, simply put the opengl32.dll and QeffectsGL.ini files into the PPSSPP folder (where the exe is) and just run PPSSPP. Make sure you have the latest builds from buildbot for this to work for it didn't work before in older builds (with me anyway).
Caution before using this: tweak the bloom a little because its very bright at default. its under the generic tab on the ini file.

UPDATE: Turns out that for some effects like SSAO, AA and DOF to work, rendering mode needs to be on "Non-buffered rendering". Otherwise effects like bloom, color correction work fine with "buffered rendering". Since this was made back in 2012 with no further updates from the creator, we can only expect little to no workaround for this, unless the community is willing to make fixes for the injector. Smile

SCREENS *sorry for Photobucket quality*:
Tekken 6 (Sorry for the random screens, I have yet to find a ON/OFF switch of this injector.)
OFF:
[Image: 1-OFF_zpsda3c3a32.jpg]

ON:
[Image: 1-ON_zpsc665a573.jpg]

Soul Calibur Broken Destiny
OFF:
[Image: 2-OFF2_zps90b56f61.jpg]
[Image: SC-OFF_zps5854fdc4.jpg]

ON:
[Image: 2-ON2_zps57f43086.jpg]
[Image: SC-ON_zps2c148486.jpg]

God of War: Ghosts of Sparta
OFF:
[Image: GoWOFF_zpsacc6827d.jpg]
[Image: GOW2-OFF_zps9105d14d.jpg]
[Image: GOW2-QEFFECTS-OFF_zps748aa336.jpg]

ON:
[Image: GoWON_zpsf3d76b62.jpg]
[Image: GOW2-ON_zpsd8fb7d8e.jpg]
[Image: GOW2-QEFFECTS-DOF-AA-HDR-BLOOM_zps2a32d232.jpg]

*for those who want my settings, put paste on the ini file under the Generic tab:
Code:
[Generic]
Anisotropy=16
Multisample=8
MultisampleHint=0
Bloom=2
BloomSteps=16
BloomDarken=8
BloomScale=2
SSAO=1
SSAOScale=5.0
SSAOMinZ=0.005
SSAOMaxZ=1.0
Hue=-2
Saturation=20
Lightness=0
Emboss=1
EmbossScale=0.666
DOF=1
DOFMinZ=0.005
DOFSpeed=1
DOFScale=10

it seems like the GoW games (both CoO and GoS) are the ones that fully maximize the effects of this injector, because it actually makes use of SSAO and DOF really well, and it looks very comparable, if not better, to the PS2 GoW games.


Attached File(s)
.zip  QeffectsGL.1.2.zip (Size: 77.54 KB / Downloads: 1225)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 12:11 PM
Post: #2
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
Just for windows or may i try to test on android??
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 12:17 PM
Post: #3
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
@killermk214

it only works on Windows, as it is a dll injector. the same way SweetFX & ENB uses a custom d3d9.dll for injecting.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 01:40 PM (This post was last modified: 09-29-2013 01:40 PM by Tabman.)
Post: #4
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
@ Blood_Ninja
The key combination "alt+print screen" should always copy the content of the current active window into the clipboard. From there you should be able to paste it with ctrl-v into most gfx software, for example IrfanView.

And I would love to try QeffectsGL myself, it sounds intriguing, but currently I'm stuck with an almost antique [8 years old I think] pc.

I'm sorry, but I can't constantly keep an eye on all the game compatibility threads I started.
Please send a Private Message if you need some more information.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 02:25 PM (This post was last modified: 09-29-2013 02:32 PM by Blood_Ninja.)
Post: #5
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
(09-29-2013 01:40 PM)Tabman Wrote:  "alt+print screen"

tried doing this with paint. it just gave me a black screen.

EDIT: print screen works. will be posting comparison screenshots later
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 02:29 PM (This post was last modified: 09-29-2013 02:30 PM by TheDax.)
Post: #6
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
It doesn't work with buffered rendering, so it's not very useful for PPSSPP. At least for me, it doesn't.

In non-buffered, it works, but non-buffered is almost pointless to use on Windows.

4GHz AMD 3900X, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 6GB Nvidia RTX 2060, Asus Crosshair 7 Hero (Wifi), Linux
How to ask useful questions: https://web.archive.org/web/20110214010944/http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 02:33 PM
Post: #7
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
any screenshots from game with this??
I try to run this but this work only with 32 bit??

http://teammaverickone.blogspot.com/
Windows 7 x64 :: 8GB RAM :: E6300 3.52 GHz :: GeForce GTX 560
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 02:33 PM (This post was last modified: 09-29-2013 02:34 PM by Blood_Ninja.)
Post: #8
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
(09-29-2013 02:29 PM)daxtsu Wrote:  It doesn't work with buffered rendering, so it's not very useful for PPSSPP. At least for me, it doesn't.

In non-buffered, it works, but non-buffered is almost pointless to use on Windows.

I have set mine to buffered rendering. Have you tried the newer dev builds?

(09-29-2013 02:33 PM)Maverick81PL Wrote:  any screenshots from game with this??
I try to run this but this work only with 32 bit??

uploading screenshots now.

yes, it will work. unless I'm wrong, there's no harm in trying.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 02:36 PM
Post: #9
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
I'm always on the latest dev build mate. I'm a contributor.

4GHz AMD 3900X, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 6GB Nvidia RTX 2060, Asus Crosshair 7 Hero (Wifi), Linux
How to ask useful questions: https://web.archive.org/web/20110214010944/http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 02:38 PM
Post: #10
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
I want to run this in MOnster Hunter 3rd HD but only antialiasing working for me Undecided

http://teammaverickone.blogspot.com/
Windows 7 x64 :: 8GB RAM :: E6300 3.52 GHz :: GeForce GTX 560
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 02:39 PM
Post: #11
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
Does AA work for you in buffered mode with 3rd HD, Maverick?

4GHz AMD 3900X, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 6GB Nvidia RTX 2060, Asus Crosshair 7 Hero (Wifi), Linux
How to ask useful questions: https://web.archive.org/web/20110214010944/http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 02:41 PM (This post was last modified: 09-29-2013 02:41 PM by Blood_Ninja.)
Post: #12
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
(09-29-2013 02:36 PM)daxtsu Wrote:  I'm always on the latest dev build mate. I'm a contributor.

I have mine set to buffered rendering right now. Don't know what's wrong with yours.
[Image: settings_zps3456339a.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 02:43 PM (This post was last modified: 09-29-2013 02:54 PM by Maverick81PL.)
Post: #13
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
(09-29-2013 02:39 PM)daxtsu Wrote:  Does AA work for you in buffered mode with 3rd HD, Maverick?

AA work only in non-buffered mode Undecided

Can someone test this in Monster Hunter 3rd HD??

This is my screens from game: OFF & ON
Only AA working Undecided Why??

(09-29-2013 02:41 PM)Blood_Ninja Wrote:  
(09-29-2013 02:36 PM)daxtsu Wrote:  I'm always on the latest dev build mate. I'm a contributor.

I have mine set to buffered rendering right now. Don't know what's wrong with yours.
[Image: settings_zps3456339a.jpg]

What build you using??


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
       

http://teammaverickone.blogspot.com/
Windows 7 x64 :: 8GB RAM :: E6300 3.52 GHz :: GeForce GTX 560
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 03:04 PM (This post was last modified: 09-29-2013 03:04 PM by Blood_Ninja.)
Post: #14
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
(09-29-2013 02:43 PM)Maverick81PL Wrote:  What build you using??

v0.9.1-1361-gb661ae6
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2013, 03:06 PM
Post: #15
RE: QeffectsGL [now working with PPSSPP]
(09-29-2013 03:04 PM)Blood_Ninja Wrote:  
(09-29-2013 02:43 PM)Maverick81PL Wrote:  What build you using??

v0.9.1-1361-gb661ae6

I'm using the same and for me this not working Undecided I try 32bit & 64bit
AA works only on 32bit but only AA Undecided In *.ini I have all activate.
Is a key activation this or something I missing??

http://teammaverickone.blogspot.com/
Windows 7 x64 :: 8GB RAM :: E6300 3.52 GHz :: GeForce GTX 560
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: