Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
06-28-2013, 11:49 PM (This post was last modified: 06-29-2013 12:11 AM by Scootaloo.)
Post: #31
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
I noticed that there are some lines under text (anywhere really) it is not that bad, but I was wondering if there is any way to fix it.

Example(s): http://imgur.com/a/Yms5Q
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-28-2013, 11:51 PM
Post: #32
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
Are you using linear filtering? Try turning it off, if you are. If not, it's probably the game not expecting to render at a higher res, so it can/will cause glitches.

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 12:02 AM (This post was last modified: 06-29-2013 12:12 AM by Scootaloo.)
Post: #33
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
(06-28-2013 11:51 PM)daxtsu Wrote:  Are you using linear filtering? Try turning it off, if you are. If not, it's probably the game not expecting to render at a higher res, so it can/will cause glitches.

Well I swapped to "1x Render Resolution", and I'm not using linear filtering. Swapping to "1x Render Resolution" fixes it. Is there anyway for me to be able to play at a higher resolution along with the text not looking like that or is it unavoidable?

My settings (defaults mostly): http://imgur.com/a/T8Hh6
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 12:07 AM (This post was last modified: 06-29-2013 12:09 AM by TheDax.)
Post: #34
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
I had a quick mess around with the settings and there seems to be one solution(could be more, but I didn't seem to find another one): Try "force nearest filtering". It'll make the game more pixelated, but it'll still upscale the 3D stuff, and allow the text to not have the glitched lines.

https://i.minus.com/ivZQXOzpa3HLg.png (Not img tagged since it's huge)

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 12:13 AM
Post: #35
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
Thanks. I'll try using that and see how it looks. That is at "2x Render Resolution" right?

PS: I removed the images, and put a link to the gallery.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 12:15 AM (This post was last modified: 06-29-2013 12:21 AM by TheDax.)
Post: #36
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
The screen I took is at 3x. Oh, and you can mix force nearest with Texture Upscaling to get a sort of hybrid look:

https://i.minus.com/ixylX1s1lk3NV.png

Here's Texture Upscaling without nearest(slightly smoother than with nearest):

https://i.minus.com/ibpyXoh9byQKJs.png

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 12:24 AM
Post: #37
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
I'll probably just stick with "force nearest filtering", because though the upscaling makes it look more smooth it feels unnatural to me. Thanks though, this looks great.

For anyone else who might be reading this, here is a comparison: http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/30070
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 12:27 AM
Post: #38
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
No prob. Just letting you know of different options out there.

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-09-2013, 03:12 AM
Post: #39
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
http://imgur.com/8kk5QoU.jpg
http://imgur.com/1HAekfD.jpg
http://imgur.com/xdoppnJ.jpg

Looks sweet on my DNA. Several battles in, no lag at all. No crashes, nothing negative. Always runs at full fps, voice overs and sound are perfect too.

I booted up my actual psp to compare....huge difference in everything.
http://imgur.com/AhdO6Hl.jpg

forgive the random stat screen, was showing someone it on a different forum...but as you can see, ppsspp makes everything look better.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2013, 09:59 PM
Post: #40
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
I joined for this.

I have a Galaxy Tab 2/Android OS.

I'm not sure what version I had before I upgraded to the 0.8.1 version, but it did not have sound. What it did have was pretty awesome game play. I upgraded to 0.8.1 and now I have sound, but it lost the gfx for the panels that you get whenever you select to move, or that tells you where an attack is targeted. Also, the highlighted squares on the ground are gone (the ones associated with the buffs and prisms), and it just has the bare ground. I've spent a couple hours between the settings trying to get that feature back. Everything seems to be fine except for that.

Also, for someone who may be thinking of upgrading, if you have the old save state button (only one), the upgrade will give you multiple save state buttons, but corrupt any save state that you had before the upgrade. So you'll want to save the old fashioned way before upgrading.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-11-2013, 01:53 AM
Post: #41
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
(07-10-2013 09:59 PM)ballinjin2k Wrote:  I joined for this.

I have a Galaxy Tab 2/Android OS.

I'm not sure what version I had before I upgraded to the 0.8.1 version, but it did not have sound. What it did have was pretty awesome game play. I upgraded to 0.8.1 and now I have sound, but it lost the gfx for the panels that you get whenever you select to move, or that tells you where an attack is targeted. Also, the highlighted squares on the ground are gone (the ones associated with the buffs and prisms), and it just has the bare ground. I've spent a couple hours between the settings trying to get that feature back. Everything seems to be fine except for that.

Also, for someone who may be thinking of upgrading, if you have the old save state button (only one), the upgrade will give you multiple save state buttons, but corrupt any save state that you had before the upgrade. So you'll want to save the old fashioned way before upgrading.

You mean these panels?

http://imgur.com/hedLirg
http://imgur.com/pbUcRu3
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-11-2013, 08:28 PM (This post was last modified: 07-11-2013 08:30 PM by ballinjin2k.)
Post: #42
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
Yes! Those panels.
Normally you can toggle them with select, but that's doesn't seem to apply here.
Looking at your screenshot, I also notice that the transparent gray box behind the character name/stats is missing on my version as well. I knew something else looked odd when I was playing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2013, 02:11 PM
Post: #43
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
http://imgur.com/AOcgFww
http://imgur.com/wzcvxLX

These are the settings I use for disgaea aod and disgaea 2 and I've yet to encounter any issues, just killed midboss for the first time.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-27-2013, 03:22 PM
Post: #44
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
I am playing on Galaxy S 4 i9500. The graphics are fine, constant 60 FPS and I haven't noticed any glitches so far. The problem I have is the sound distortion, pretty much anywhere with 3d backgrounds there is this background noise and sound starts lagging. I've tried changing pretty much every option but with no success. Maybe someone here has any thoughts on how to fix it, the conversations in this game are truly amazing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-08-2013, 09:39 PM
Post: #45
RE: Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness
Any way to load my PSP save games? I'm 80+ hours into it on my PSP and I'd rather not lose all of that. I put the save games where they should go, and it tries to load them, but then I get a gray screen with lines (that I assume should say something), and it kicks me back to the main menu.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: