Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[solved] Change function of backspace key
08-25-2013, 03:13 PM (This post was last modified: 08-26-2013 09:43 AM by Ety04.)
Post: #1
[solved] Change function of backspace key
Hi everyone,

I've tried PPSSPP and so far I think it's a great software, thanks to all the team.

But I'd like to use the Backspace key as the Circle key (or whatever I want), for me it's very important.
How can I set it? By default it always brings me to PPSSPP menu, which is already done by Esc.

I tried to set Circle as Backspace in Control mapping, but the "back to PPSSPP menu" function always overrides my choice. Haven't found any option to fix that.

Can someone help?
Find all posts by this user
08-25-2013, 03:23 PM
Post: #2
RE: Change function of backspace key
The backspace is hardcoded.
You can set the key but that won't prevent the hardcoded function(show the game screen while ingame or go back in menus)

Using PPSSPP on Windows 7 x64 SP1
i7 4771 3.5Ghz,GTX750TI,16GB RAM

Batch iso <=> cso converter
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5384
Save Game\States Manager
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5516
Find all posts by this user
08-25-2013, 03:25 PM
Post: #3
RE: Change function of backspace key
(08-25-2013 03:23 PM)vsub_ Wrote:  The backspace is hardcoded.
You can set the key but that won't prevent the hardcoded function(show the game screen while ingame or go back in menus)

Thanks for the quick reply.
So what can I do? Is there a way I can get to change that setting and recompile a version for myself?
Find all posts by this user
08-25-2013, 03:50 PM (This post was last modified: 08-25-2013 03:54 PM by TheDax.)
Post: #4
RE: Change function of backspace key
It's hard-coded to always go back in menus, but it shouldn't be showing the pause screen if you unbind it from pause(actually, in 0.9.1 official, it'll be forced, but in the newer dev builds it should be completely flexible)..

If you know how to compile, yes, you can change the hard-coded key.

In this function, simply remove NKCODE_ESCAPE from the list of hard coded Cancel keys. I hard coded escape because we have to have a bare minimum of accept and cancel keys, otherwise you wouldn't be able to navigate the UI. It's supposed to NOT act as a menu opener when you un-bind it from pause and re-bind it to something else, though..

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
08-25-2013, 04:26 PM
Post: #5
RE: Change function of backspace key
(08-25-2013 03:50 PM)daxtsu Wrote:  It's hard-coded to always go back in menus, but it shouldn't be showing the pause screen if you unbind it from pause(actually, in 0.9.1 official, it'll be forced, but in the newer dev builds it should be completely flexible)..

If you know how to compile, yes, you can change the hard-coded key.

In this function, simply remove NKCODE_ESCAPE from the list of hard coded Cancel keys. I hard coded escape because we have to have a bare minimum of accept and cancel keys, otherwise you wouldn't be able to navigate the UI. It's supposed to NOT act as a menu opener when you un-bind it from pause and re-bind it to something else, though..

Thanks very much Smile

I'll try that. I hope it'll still work.
Find all posts by this user
08-25-2013, 04:39 PM
Post: #6
RE: Change function of backspace key
No problem. Hope you find a good solution that works for you.

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
08-25-2013, 04:53 PM
Post: #7
RE: Change function of backspace key
Btw,there is a bug with the key
https://github.com/hrydgard/ppsspp/issues/3396

Using PPSSPP on Windows 7 x64 SP1
i7 4771 3.5Ghz,GTX750TI,16GB RAM

Batch iso <=> cso converter
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5384
Save Game\States Manager
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5516
Find all posts by this user
08-25-2013, 05:50 PM
Post: #8
RE: Change function of backspace key
Yes, I have noticed that.
I even modified the config.ini for pause, and indeed it doesn't change anything.

So I hope that recompiling the project in Visual Studio will do it.
If it works, I'll post the version here Smile
Find all posts by this user
08-25-2013, 07:57 PM (This post was last modified: 08-25-2013 08:09 PM by Ety04.)
Post: #9
Photo RE: Change function of backspace key
I get this problem while executing from VS (cf image attached)

Even if the ui_atlas.zim figures in the folder. The result is pretty bad... I cannot see anything on the interface.

Trying to export to see if it changes...

Well it does work but the Backspace default function still overrides everything, even if I removed it from the code. Incredible.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
08-25-2013, 08:01 PM
Post: #10
RE: Change function of backspace key
Change the Working Directory under PPSSPPWindows -> Properties -> Debugging to ".." without quotes.

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
08-25-2013, 08:19 PM (This post was last modified: 08-25-2013 09:01 PM by Ety04.)
Post: #11
RE: Change function of backspace key
Exclamation Exclamation Exclamation VICTORY Exclamation Exclamation Exclamation

  1. Application:

    You can have the PPSSPP version with the Backspace key function not fixed here:
    - Windows 32-bit version
    - Windows 64-bit version

    After downloading these, just replace your "PPSSPPWindows" application (or PPSSPPWindows64) in the root folder that comes with your official download of PPSSPP, by the corresponding one above (can't work without the official download's structure).
  2. In the project:

    You have to go to the following file:
    ppsspp/UI/EmuScreen.cpp

    And change the key(KeyInput &key) function as follows,
    From:
    Code:
    void EmuScreen::key(const KeyInput &key) {
        if (key.keyCode == NKCODE_BACK)
            pauseTrigger_ = true;

        int result = KeyMap::KeyToPspButton(key.deviceId, key.keyCode);
        if (result == KEYMAP_ERROR_UNKNOWN_KEY)
            return;

        pspKey(result, key.flags);
    }
    To:
    Code:
    void EmuScreen::key(const KeyInput &key) {
        int result = KeyMap::KeyToPspButton(key.deviceId, key.keyCode);
        if (result == KEYMAP_ERROR_UNKNOWN_KEY)
            return;

        pspKey(result, key.flags);
    }
    (remove the 2 lines of the first "if")


This is it! Idea Wink

daxtsu, great! That worked for seeing the interface clearly from Visual Studio.
Your suggestion above was cool also (though only the thing mentioned here works).
Find all posts by this user
08-26-2013, 02:26 PM
Post: #12
RE: [solved] Change function of backspace key
So your problem is now resolved, I can close the thread Smile

Closed.

♦ Intel Core i7-6700HQ | 16 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M | Debian Testing
♦ Intel Core i7-2630QM | 4 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M | Debian Testing
♦ PSP-3004 | 6.60 PRO-C2
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Forum Jump: