Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Sound don't work if disabled before starting a game
08-13-2013, 10:17 AM (This post was last modified: 08-13-2013 10:20 AM by vsub_.)
Post: #1
Sound don't work if disabled before starting a game
Is this intentional or a bug.
If you disable the sound before starting a game,there is no way to enable it while ingame
You have to completely exist the game(restart don't help),enable the sound and start the game again.

If you enable the sound before starting a game,you can enable\disable it as much as you want and will always work correctly.

Using PPSSPP on Windows 7 x64 SP1
i7 4771 3.5Ghz,GTX750TI,16GB RAM

Batch iso <=> cso converter
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5384
Save Game\States Manager
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5516
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2013, 11:11 AM (This post was last modified: 08-14-2013 11:57 AM by TheDax.)
Post: #2
RE: Sound don't work if disabled before starting a game
It's a bug an oversight. The sound mixer isn't being inited at all if sound isn't enabled. It can be fixed in two ways that I can think of, though I'm not sure which is best yet:

1. We can init the sound mixer after enabling sound(and checking to see if Mixer is NULL, and if the emulator is actually running a game via PSP_IsInited to avoid a double init).
2. Init the sound mixer regardless of if sound is enabled or not and simply set the volume to zero so no sounds can be heard, then change the volumes if sound is later re-enabled.

The second option would override existing user settings on audio volume, though. I think I'll go with option 1.


Edit: https://github.com/hrydgard/ppsspp/pull/3165

4GHz AMD 3900X, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 6GB Nvidia RTX 2060, Asus Crosshair 7 Hero (Wifi), Linux
How to ask useful questions: https://web.archive.org/web/20110214010944/http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2013, 12:18 PM
Post: #3
RE: Sound don't work if disabled before starting a game
Thanks.
I sometimes start a game with the sound disable(listening music from some player)and it was always bothering me that I have to restart the game to enable the sound

Using PPSSPP on Windows 7 x64 SP1
i7 4771 3.5Ghz,GTX750TI,16GB RAM

Batch iso <=> cso converter
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5384
Save Game\States Manager
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5516
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2013, 12:25 PM (This post was last modified: 08-14-2013 12:27 PM by TheDax.)
Post: #4
RE: Sound don't work if disabled before starting a game
No problem. I would imagine it'll be merged today; it's not exactly a controversial issue(I guess unless the style I coded it in isn't how Henrik & Unknown like it). Tongue

4GHz AMD 3900X, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 6GB Nvidia RTX 2060, Asus Crosshair 7 Hero (Wifi), Linux
How to ask useful questions: https://web.archive.org/web/20110214010944/http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2013, 03:27 PM (This post was last modified: 08-14-2013 03:39 PM by vsub_.)
Post: #5
RE: Sound don't work if disabled before starting a game
Yes,it's working not but is this how it's suppose to work?
You can enable the sound only from the screen menu and the function that tells ppsspp to enable the sound is triggered only if you click on the Back button.

Sound disabled at startup:
The menu Emulation=>Sound can't enable the sound.
The screen menu Game Settings=>Sound=>Enable Sound=>use Esc to go back,don't enable the sound even if the checkbox is checked.
If you use the back button while the sound is enabled,it will enable the sound and from then on,you can Enable\Disable it from the Win32 menu and it will always work

This in on the NewUI
You till can't enable the sound(first time)from Emulation=>Sound but just clicking on the screen menu checkbox enables the sound on the old gui.

Edit:Also on the old UI the Atrac checkbox is auto unchecked and if you start a game with Atrac disable,you can't enable it.
On the new ui if the sound checkbox is disabled but Atrac is enabled,you will be able hear atrac music if you enable the sound
On the new ui if both a disabled,you won't be able to use atrac until you restart the game

Using PPSSPP on Windows 7 x64 SP1
i7 4771 3.5Ghz,GTX750TI,16GB RAM

Batch iso <=> cso converter
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5384
Save Game\States Manager
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5516
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2013, 05:48 PM (This post was last modified: 08-14-2013 06:12 PM by TheDax.)
Post: #6
RE: Sound don't work if disabled before starting a game
Yes, it's supposed to only work when pressing Back in NewUI because it doesn't work immediately like the old UI. I can't change that part. Nice catches. As for pressing escape, the dialog returns cancel when pressing back(on the 360 pad)/escape/B/etc., so I'm not sure how to deal with that, meaning it discards whatever you changed. Pullrq coming which rectifies all of the above issues except the escape thing.

Also, if you enable Atrac 3+ after sound's been disabled in the first place, it won't kick in until the next time the game asks for some Atrac 3+ audio to be played(like say changing a level or entering a menu, whenever the game requests it). I'm not going to go to such an extent of reinitialising all of the sceAudio stuff just for that. If someone else wants to, they can. :\

https://github.com/hrydgard/ppsspp/pull/3169

Post here if there are still remaining issues aside from the ones I stated above.

4GHz AMD 3900X, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 6GB Nvidia RTX 2060, Asus Crosshair 7 Hero (Wifi), Linux
How to ask useful questions: https://web.archive.org/web/20110214010944/http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2013, 06:56 PM
Post: #7
RE: Sound don't work if disabled before starting a game
(08-14-2013 05:48 PM)daxtsu Wrote:  Also, if you enable Atrac 3+ after sound's been disabled in the first place, it won't kick in until the next time the game asks for some Atrac 3+ audio to be played
For testing I used Fate Unlimited Codes.
There is a menu called Extra from which you can directly run the opening.
If Atrac is not running,there will be no sound in the video(that's how I found about the Atrac problem)
I was unable to enable the sound in the video without restarting the game

I also just tried 1345 and everything seems to be ok...I used the Win32 menus,not the screen menus but the screen menus also work

Both disabled before starting a game and then enable them one after another.
Disable only Atrac and enable it after starting the game.

Using PPSSPP on Windows 7 x64 SP1
i7 4771 3.5Ghz,GTX750TI,16GB RAM

Batch iso <=> cso converter
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5384
Save Game\States Manager
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5516
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2013, 07:20 PM
Post: #8
RE: Sound don't work if disabled before starting a game
Letting the movie cycle/play on its own should work too once you've enabled it. But anyway, that should be enough to get you started for now, yeah? Tongue

4GHz AMD 3900X, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 6GB Nvidia RTX 2060, Asus Crosshair 7 Hero (Wifi), Linux
How to ask useful questions: https://web.archive.org/web/20110214010944/http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: