Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
07-01-2013, 01:40 PM
Post: #1
Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
   

Well, this has happened to me with every game I have for PSP, I tried MHF, MHF2, MHFU, Phantasy Star Portable 2 and none of them have any text in-game, here I'm going to post images.

Any idea of what's going on?

I have already installed neccesary things for emulation, the games almost every work at stable 30 FPS/60 VPS, so I don't know what could be causing this.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
           
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 04:04 PM
Post: #2
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
Which PPSSPP version are you using(the official 0.8.1 or some beta)

Using PPSSPP on Windows 7 x64 SP1
i7 4771 3.5Ghz,GTX750TI,16GB RAM

Batch iso <=> cso converter
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5384
Save Game\States Manager
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5516
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 04:09 PM (This post was last modified: 07-01-2013 04:10 PM by TheDax.)
Post: #3
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
AMD or NVidia GPU(yes, it can matter)?

Also, what PC specs? You're not giving us nearly enough info.

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 04:17 PM
Post: #4
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
I'm using the official one downloaded just at the start of the page.

My specs are:
NVidia GeForce GT430 1 GB
Pentium Dual Core CPU E5800 @3.20GHz
2 GB DDR3 RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 32bits

Those are my PC Specs.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 04:24 PM (This post was last modified: 07-01-2013 04:25 PM by vsub_.)
Post: #5
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
Hmm,Phantasy Star Portable 2 work fine here...I just download 0.8.1,extract it,copied the at3plusdecoder.dll and run the game without changing any settings.

While the emulator is not running,rename the ppsspp.ini and try the game again without changing settings

The problem could also be video drivers.

Using PPSSPP on Windows 7 x64 SP1
i7 4771 3.5Ghz,GTX750TI,16GB RAM

Batch iso <=> cso converter
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5384
Save Game\States Manager
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5516
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 04:24 PM (This post was last modified: 07-01-2013 04:26 PM by TheDax.)
Post: #6
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
Is your NVidia driver relatively up to date(say within the last 2-3 months)? All of those games you mentioned have working text, even in 0.8.1-official..

Also, make sure in your ppsspp folder you have a series of folders like this:
"flash0/fonts", and inside there should be 10-12 files with the extension ".pgf".

The only way I can seem to reproduce this is with the flash0/fonts folder being missing.

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 04:32 PM (This post was last modified: 07-01-2013 05:21 PM by neromercer.)
Post: #7
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
I have 18 of them, jpn0, kr0, ltn0 up to ltn15 with the .pgf extension in the folder, so I have a Japan pgf, a Korean pgf and some other Ltn pgf, don't know what's that.

About the drivers, I downloaded the last one a month ago, I'm going to try and download the latest and then edit this comment.

About the ppsspp.ini, I renamed it and then tried running PSPortable 2, It remained the same, but now it runs even smoother, so thanks for that lol, but still can't read anything.

EDIT:Drivers didn't work, still remains with no text.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 08:57 PM
Post: #8
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
moved

Phone: Xiaomi Redmi Note 6 Pro 4/64GB

PC: Core i5 3470/8GB RAM/GTX 660 2GB/Windows 10 Pro x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 08:59 PM
Post: #9
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
Why can you still see the title then? :/

Is it, because the title is actually considered an image and not text in the game?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 09:21 PM
Post: #10
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
It's likely part of the background image, or a sprite, yes.

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 09:23 PM
Post: #11
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
(07-01-2013 08:59 PM)Scootaloo Wrote:  Why can you still see the title then? :/

Is it, because the title is actually considered an image and not text in the game?

Yes, the title is considered as an image, is not part of the game's font.

I still haven't seen any solutions to this, I tried renaming another fonts to ltn0 to see if it worked, still remained the same, so I think that the problem aren't the fonts, but something else... It may have to do with a graphical issue to GT 430 GeForce GPUs...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 09:32 PM (This post was last modified: 07-01-2013 09:33 PM by vsub_.)
Post: #12
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
It definitely has something to do with the fonts.
If I rename the folder flash0 to flash(when I do that,it's the same if the fonts are not loaded because ppsspp can't find them or can't load them because of some permission problem)I get the exact same problem on Phantasy Start 2.

Did you tried running ppsspp as administrator?

Using PPSSPP on Windows 7 x64 SP1
i7 4771 3.5Ghz,GTX750TI,16GB RAM

Batch iso <=> cso converter
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5384
Save Game\States Manager
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5516
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 09:41 PM (This post was last modified: 07-01-2013 09:41 PM by TheDax.)
Post: #13
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
Assuming that's the issue, running the emulator from Program Files is probably a bad idea(requires administrator; why not have something like C:\Games\Emulators\PSP?). Tongue

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 09:44 PM (This post was last modified: 07-01-2013 09:46 PM by Scootaloo.)
Post: #14
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
(07-01-2013 09:32 PM)vsub_ Wrote:  It definitely has something to do with the fonts.
If I rename the folder flash0 to flash(when I do that,it's the same if the fonts are not loaded because ppsspp can't find them or can't load them because of some permission problem)I get the exact same problem on Phantasy Start 2.

Did you tried running ppsspp as administrator?

(07-01-2013 09:41 PM)daxtsu Wrote:  Assuming that's the issue, running the emulator from Program Files is probably a bad idea(requires administrator; why not have something like C:\Games\Emulators\PSP?). Tongue

So this is probably the work of the evil and sometimes useless UAC. I think there should be a warning in PPSSPP maybe so that in the title it will say "[PPSSPP build here] **warning you are not running with administrator privileges**".
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-01-2013, 09:53 PM (This post was last modified: 07-01-2013 09:58 PM by neromercer.)
Post: #15
RE: Can't display text on PPSSPP Win v0.8.1 (actually in none)
UAC I HATE YOUUUU!!! xD, that was the problem, I got it solved thankfully Big Grin!, close this topic as it's been fixed, and in later builds tell us to put them in a folder that's not protected by Windows (My folder wasn't in Program Files, but if you put it on your user's folder, it won't work anyways, so try putting it in C:/ as they said)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: