Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 3.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Valkyria Chronicles II
10-29-2013, 06:43 PM
Post: #91
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
(10-26-2013 11:24 PM)mitul103 Wrote:  If you were to keep the debug log open when you make one of these problematic savestates you would see "FIXME: Open files during savestate, could go badly." Quite simply, loading a savestate does not restore open file handles at the time of the savestate creation and thus the game freezes when trying to deploy a character with a DLC weapon equipped (unless you have another character with that weapon equipped already deployed in which case the weapon is already in memory and it doesn't need to go out to disk). Note that this will affect any game when making savestates while accessing DLC content that lives on the memory stick.

The devs are aware of this problem because they have bothered to create this error message, but it's not something that they have gotten around to fixing yet. You can see the code in DirectoryFileSystem::DoState method in https://github.com/hrydgard/ppsspp/blob/...System.cpp

Ah, now this makes some real sense. Thanks a lot for the detailed answer. Well, as you said, the presence of a FIXME tag indicates the devs are aware of the issue, so all that's left is wait until they get around to do something about it (could take a while I suppose, since the game IS playable, and there's likely loads of more important things to fix)

Is there a thread somewhere that tracks or discusses this FIXME?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-30-2013, 12:56 AM
Post: #92
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
I think it's the same issue affecting this game:
https://github.com/hrydgard/ppsspp/issues/2554

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-31-2013, 04:24 PM
Post: #93
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
(10-30-2013 12:56 AM)[Unknown] Wrote:  I think it's the same issue affecting this game:
https://github.com/hrydgard/ppsspp/issues/2554

-[Unknown]

Sure looks like it.

So, Brackets, seeing as you are a regular contributor, how high would you rate the difficulty of adding open file handles to the savestate data?

I took a peek at the code in github, and it seems like the DoSave function in the DirectoryFileSystem.cpp is just a stub, like a benign version of a "not yet implemented" exception. Am I talking outta my arse?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-31-2013, 09:02 PM
Post: #94
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
Alright hi everyone... im totally new to this emulator, i own a psp but it broke so im using this and im wonder how to get off the black screen after i click this game to load. The games does load buts its just black screen but when i press the back arrow on my Samsung galaxy s blaze, it shows the game's background of a small city for when it gives the choices of setting, save, exit, etc so i know its running. Are there certain things i should turn on/off in settings?

Im running the newest ppsspp version 9.1
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-01-2013, 05:20 AM
Post: #95
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
(10-31-2013 09:02 PM)Ddraig Wrote:  Alright hi everyone... im totally new to this emulator, i own a psp but it broke so im using this and im wonder how to get off the black screen after i click this game to load. The games does load buts its just black screen but when i press the back arrow on my Samsung galaxy s blaze, it shows the game's background of a small city for when it gives the choices of setting, save, exit, etc so i know its running. Are there certain things i should turn on/off in settings?

Im running the newest ppsspp version 9.1

Try again with latest version of PPSSPP you can find that here:-
http://buildbot.orphis.net/ppsspp/

I worse write english so take easy on me
(even my own language realy bad T_T)

Rig to test now :
Windows 8 64 bit (Laptop)
Intel® Core™ i3-3110M (2.4GHz, 3MB L3 Cache)
Nvidia GT720M 2GB
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-01-2013, 06:05 AM
Post: #96
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
(10-31-2013 04:24 PM)jlperkins Wrote:  So, Brackets, seeing as you are a regular contributor, how high would you rate the difficulty of adding open file handles to the savestate data?

I took a peek at the code in github, and it seems like the DoSave function in the DirectoryFileSystem.cpp is just a stub, like a benign version of a "not yet implemented" exception. Am I talking outta my arse?

That's about right. The job of each DoState function (there are a lot throughout the emulator) is to save OR load its individual chunk of state. This is actually the only one that I think is not implemented, iirc. (well and VFSFileSystem, but it's the same basically.)

The std::map "entries" is really the only thing that needs to be saved/restored. Unfortunately, this map consists of operating system file handles. It'll need to be changed to remember the relative file path, and other open parameters.

Then it'll need to save state, just ftell() maybe? Also when restoring, it'll probably need to treat truncate as read/write.

I don't think there's anything else but I'm not totally sure.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-03-2013, 03:54 AM
Post: #97
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
Hello guys, I'm having this problem. I don't know what to do.
I'm using v0.9.5-40-ged1204a since the latest version also have this problem.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-03-2013, 04:17 AM
Post: #98
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
(11-01-2013 05:20 AM)Ritori Wrote:  
(10-31-2013 09:02 PM)Ddraig Wrote:  Alright hi everyone... im totally new to this emulator, i own a psp but it broke so im using this and im wonder how to get off the black screen after i click this game to load. The games does load buts its just black screen but when i press the back arrow on my Samsung galaxy s blaze, it shows the game's background of a small city for when it gives the choices of setting, save, exit, etc so i know its running. Are there certain things i should turn on/off in settings?

Im running the newest ppsspp version 9.1

Try again with latest version of PPSSPP you can find that here:-
http://buildbot.orphis.net/ppsspp/

Its all good now, all i had to do was re-extract it but on my pc instead of phone and transfer the files.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-06-2013, 02:13 AM (This post was last modified: 11-06-2013 02:15 AM by Tat0r.)
Post: #99
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
I use PPSSPP for windows with defaults and non-buffered.
I can play my games without a problem, but I realized that when i'm done with the March mission (VIP) escort after the APC has made it to victory a cutscene activates where Aliase (a young girl has been given the go to destroy V2 soldiers after she takes her hood off. PPSSPP crashes.
Windows 7. (PPSSPP has stopped working) I've tried messing with buffer, transform and vertex to no avail. Also toggled Alphatest on and off. No matter what it stops at the same exact point.

Help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.
PPSSPP Gold (Latest)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-06-2013, 04:18 PM
Post: #100
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
(11-06-2013 02:13 AM)Tat0r Wrote:  I use PPSSPP for windows with defaults and non-buffered.
I can play my games without a problem, but I realized that when i'm done with the March mission (VIP) escort after the APC has made it to victory a cutscene activates where Aliase (a young girl has been given the go to destroy V2 soldiers after she takes her hood off. PPSSPP crashes.
Windows 7. (PPSSPP has stopped working) I've tried messing with buffer, transform and vertex to no avail. Also toggled Alphatest on and off. No matter what it stops at the same exact point.

Help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.
PPSSPP Gold (Latest)

Have you tried using an earlier version of the emulator to see if the same thing happens? I played through the whole game on .91 without any crashes like that.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-06-2013, 05:09 PM (This post was last modified: 11-06-2013 05:10 PM by Tat0r.)
Post: #101
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
(11-06-2013 04:18 PM)mitul103 Wrote:  
(11-06-2013 02:13 AM)Tat0r Wrote:  I use PPSSPP for windows with defaults and non-buffered.
I can play my games without a problem, but I realized that when i'm done with the March mission (VIP) escort after the APC has made it to victory a cutscene activates where Aliase (a young girl has been given the go to destroy V2 soldiers after she takes her hood off. PPSSPP crashes.
Windows 7. (PPSSPP has stopped working) I've tried messing with buffer, transform and vertex to no avail. Also toggled Alphatest on and off. No matter what it stops at the same exact point.

Help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.
PPSSPP Gold (Latest)

Have you tried using an earlier version of the emulator to see if the same thing happens? I played through the whole game on .91 without any crashes like that.

I honestly haven't tried that. I'll try looking for an older build and try it out. Thanks for the suggestion. Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2013, 11:03 PM
Post: #102
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
Ok, so I downloaded the save file from Game FAQ to get the password characters, but what I want to know if I delete all the saves from the loading area to free up all the slots, do I still keep the password characters?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2013, 11:51 PM
Post: #103
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
(11-09-2013 11:03 PM)WarPig262 Wrote:  Ok, so I downloaded the save file from Game FAQ to get the password characters, but what I want to know if I delete all the saves from the loading area to free up all the slots, do I still keep the password characters?

If you want to delete savestate it okay it don't affect ingame save Smile

most of you said i don't really understand... if you download other game is Save liked Phantasy Star 2 to get special character on this game, it okay to delete that ingame save because that character already be unlock Smile

I worse write english so take easy on me
(even my own language realy bad T_T)

Rig to test now :
Windows 8 64 bit (Laptop)
Intel® Core™ i3-3110M (2.4GHz, 3MB L3 Cache)
Nvidia GT720M 2GB
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-11-2013, 07:22 PM
Post: #104
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
So this game is fairly stable and OK now in the latest dev builds? How about the first game? Does it run well too?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-12-2013, 01:35 AM
Post: #105
RE: Valkyria Chronicles II
(11-11-2013 07:22 PM)isamu Wrote:  So this game is fairly stable and OK now in the latest dev builds? How about the first game? Does it run well too?

The first game is PS3 game Tongue

I worse write english so take easy on me
(even my own language realy bad T_T)

Rig to test now :
Windows 8 64 bit (Laptop)
Intel® Core™ i3-3110M (2.4GHz, 3MB L3 Cache)
Nvidia GT720M 2GB
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: