Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 1 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
nds emulator????
06-25-2013, 11:39 PM
Post: #1
Information nds emulator????
Guys, i know this is way off topic

But do u have any thoughts on making a nds emulator??? Undecided


Seeing this OUTRAGEOUS PROGRESS with ppsspp

I'm sure that if u start doing nds project it will be finished no time Blush
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2013, 03:23 AM
Post: #2
RE: nds emulator????
What's wrong with DeSmuME?

I only use PPSSPP on Windows.
Intel Core i3 1.9GHz | 4GB RAM | Integrated Intel HD 4400 | Windows 8.1 x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2013, 03:54 AM (This post was last modified: 06-26-2013 03:56 AM by Razorback.)
Post: #3
RE: nds emulator????
(06-26-2013 03:23 AM)Sarisa81 Wrote:  What's wrong with DeSmuME?

I admit it got quite good compatibility but somewhat slower/more resource heavy compared to NoCash IMHO.

Shameless personal opinion: Actually I'd prefer them to start a PS2/DC emulator project instead.

edit: MODS PLEASE MOVE THIS THREAD
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2013, 05:37 AM
Post: #4
RE: nds emulator????
"somewhat slower/more resource heavy compared to NoCash IMHO."

After they enabled dynarec - it is actually just as fast, if not faster than no$, while being much more accurate. I know, i used to have an extremely old machine just a few months back.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2013, 05:41 AM
Post: #5
RE: nds emulator????
Moved to off-topic. The answer is no.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2013, 03:48 PM
Post: #6
RE: nds emulator????
(06-26-2013 03:23 AM)Sarisa81 Wrote:  What's wrong with DeSmuME?

DeSmuME is very slow and it does not support high render resolution. The graphics of 3D games are terrible on PC due to big pixels.

PSP hardware is like one generation ahead of NDS, but PPSSPP is faster than DeSmuME.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2013, 03:52 PM (This post was last modified: 06-26-2013 03:55 PM by TheDax.)
Post: #7
RE: nds emulator????
"DeSmuME is very slow." Uh..not really. Have you used it since the last official release? It has a JIT now(for x86/x64) which makes its speed very comparable to NoCash..

4GHz AMD 3900X, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 6GB Nvidia RTX 2060, Asus Crosshair 7 Hero (Wifi), Linux
How to ask useful questions: https://web.archive.org/web/20110214010944/http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2013, 04:24 PM
Post: #8
RE: nds emulator????
Realy? can someone give me a link for that Smile?

I worse write english so take easy on me
(even my own language realy bad T_T)

Rig to test now :
Windows 8 64 bit (Laptop)
Intel® Core™ i3-3110M (2.4GHz, 3MB L3 Cache)
Nvidia GT720M 2GB
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2013, 04:27 PM
Post: #9
RE: nds emulator????
For what? Desmume?

http://desmume.org/download/

4GHz AMD 3900X, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 6GB Nvidia RTX 2060, Asus Crosshair 7 Hero (Wifi), Linux
How to ask useful questions: https://web.archive.org/web/20110214010944/http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2013, 04:47 PM
Post: #10
RE: nds emulator????
If knew programming, I would be the first crazy to create a PS2 emulator for Android. Is good start now, when the phones be more powerful, we already have a PS2 emulator almost done.

Phones: Galaxy S10 Lite and Redmi Note 6 Pro

PC: Core i5 3470/8GB RAM/GTX 660 2GB/Windows 10 Pro x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2013, 05:01 PM
Post: #11
RE: nds emulator????
(06-26-2013 03:52 PM)daxtsu Wrote:  "DeSmuME is very slow." Uh..not really. Have you used it since the last official release? It has a JIT now(for x86/x64) which makes its speed very comparable to NoCash..

It continues very slow.

Before the JIT option, it was not playable on my PC.
Now I can play it at full speed with frameskip 1 or 2.

PPSSPP is playable here without frameskip.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-26-2013, 05:05 PM
Post: #12
RE: nds emulator????
There's still plenty of room to optimize in Desmume, I'll give you that, but you also have to remember it does graphics in software, in addition to the emulation, so of course it'll be slower than PPSSPP.

4GHz AMD 3900X, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 6GB Nvidia RTX 2060, Asus Crosshair 7 Hero (Wifi), Linux
How to ask useful questions: https://web.archive.org/web/20110214010944/http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-28-2013, 01:51 PM
Post: #13
RE: nds emulator????
(06-26-2013 05:05 PM)daxtsu Wrote:  There's still plenty of room to optimize in Desmume, I'll give you that, but you also have to remember it does graphics in software, in addition to the emulation, so of course it'll be slower than PPSSPP.

You can always choose OpenGL backend, you know.

Here DeSmuME is fast even without JIT, anyway.
Main problem with DeSmuME is his locked internal resolution and the devs don't giving a flying gently caress to implementing this (and that's ok, they can do what the hell they want to).

There's a guy somewhere working by himself to implementing this, but I don't remember where.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: