Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Some Graphics Issues
06-03-2013, 02:54 AM (This post was last modified: 06-03-2013 03:17 AM by GuilhermeGS2.)
Post: #1
Some Graphics Issues
Hi,
I come report a issue in one of my favorite games. The problem is with the texture color.
The game is Thrillville: Off The Rails. The game have various color tones, but the emulator not show all. Undecided
In some older builds, like v0.7.5-348, the graphics was very beautiful, I think was added the shadow effect, but was removed because crashes some games.
Take a look in the images:

Before=v0.7.5-348
Now=Recent builds

Before
   

Now
   

Before
   

Now
   

Before
   

Now
   

I want know when it will be added again in emulator? Smile

I don't remember exactly what build it was added. The comments of old builds not is shown in Buildbot, so not have as know.

Phones: Poco F3 8GB/256GB (Snapdragon 870 5G) and Redmi Note 6 Pro 4/64GB (Snapdragon 636)

PC: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / 16GB RAM DDR4 3600MHz / NVIDIA GTX 1660 Ti 6GB / Windows 10 Pro
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2013, 05:49 AM
Post: #2
RE: Some Graphics Issues
I suspect this is the "overbright" issue.

https://github.com/hrydgard/ppsspp/issues/1692

Do you have a screenshot from an actual PSP? How is the shadow supposed to look? Is it exactly like before, or somewhere slightly in the middle (as with Kingdom Hearts)?

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2013, 10:17 AM (This post was last modified: 06-03-2013 10:38 AM by GuilhermeGS2.)
Post: #3
RE: Some Graphics Issues
The graphics are exactly as real. Few detalhs not appear yet because the emulator does not support.

This is an real image:
   
This is an screenshot of PPSSPP v0.7.5-348:
   

Not are exactly the same image, but the graphics are.

Phones: Poco F3 8GB/256GB (Snapdragon 870 5G) and Redmi Note 6 Pro 4/64GB (Snapdragon 636)

PC: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / 16GB RAM DDR4 3600MHz / NVIDIA GTX 1660 Ti 6GB / Windows 10 Pro
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2013, 02:16 PM (This post was last modified: 06-03-2013 02:17 PM by Squall Leonhart.)
Post: #4
RE: Some Graphics Issues
are you able to build the emulator GuilhermeGS2?

the old behavior can be returned to by inserting

Code:
            if (!hasNormal)
                continue;

on lines 162 and 163

between

Code:
        for (int i = 0; i < 4; i++) {
and
            if (i == shadeLight0 || i == shadeLight1)

into VertexShaderGenerator.cpp
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2013, 02:28 PM (This post was last modified: 06-03-2013 02:28 PM by solarmystic.)
Post: #5
RE: Some Graphics Issues
@Squall Leonhart and others in the know

Why exactly was the old behaviour changed if it broke the shadowing?

I guess it was to fix other graphical issues, but the previous implementation looked superb.

PPSSPP Modern Testbed:-
Intel Core i5 4690K @ 4.0 GHz
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 760 2GB GDDR5 VRAM @ 1138/6500 Mhz
16 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1600 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1

PPSSPP Ancient Testing Rig:-
Intel Core 2 Duo T9550 @ 2.8GHz
ATI Mobility Radeon 4670 1GB GDDR3 VRAM @ 843/882 MHz
8 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1066 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2013, 02:31 PM
Post: #6
RE: Some Graphics Issues
Sorry, but I'm noob in programing. And I will need download a lot of apps on my PC.

Phones: Poco F3 8GB/256GB (Snapdragon 870 5G) and Redmi Note 6 Pro 4/64GB (Snapdragon 636)

PC: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / 16GB RAM DDR4 3600MHz / NVIDIA GTX 1660 Ti 6GB / Windows 10 Pro
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2013, 12:06 AM (This post was last modified: 06-04-2013 12:08 AM by [Unknown].)
Post: #7
RE: Some Graphics Issues
hasNormals means whether or not the vertex coordinates contained a normal (a lighting coordinate.)

For example, the coordinates can also contain colors (hasColor) and positions, as well as some other things like I think weights and stuff.

Before, we assumed that if the coordinates didn't specify lighting at all, this meant lighting should not be applied. However, we found a game that did expect lighting to be applied even when it did not provide a normal (it seemed to use a default one pretty clearly.)

I took a quick look at JPCSP for this question now:
https://code.google.com/p/jpcsp/source/b...hader.vert

It seems to apply lighting even when there is no normal specified, although I may be reading it wrong. That said, it seems to use the default coordinate vec3(1.0, 0.0, 0.0) (I assume that's x, y, z?) They seem to normalize it, which I'll be honest - I'm not sure what that means for a coordinate (I'm not great with 3D, I don't know the terminology and suck at trig.) But, it does not seem like applying lighting without normals is wrong.

We just have to figure out what is right.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2013, 01:41 AM
Post: #8
RE: Some Graphics Issues
You can add the feature in emulator again or not?

Phones: Poco F3 8GB/256GB (Snapdragon 870 5G) and Redmi Note 6 Pro 4/64GB (Snapdragon 636)

PC: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / 16GB RAM DDR4 3600MHz / NVIDIA GTX 1660 Ti 6GB / Windows 10 Pro
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2013, 05:43 AM
Post: #9
RE: Some Graphics Issues
It's not a feature, it's bad math. Don't play dumb, it only annoys me, and it only makes me less interested in looking into this issue. I guess I will look into something else instead, since you're being like that.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-04-2013, 07:51 AM
Post: #10
RE: Some Graphics Issues
(06-04-2013 12:06 AM)[Unknown] Wrote:  hasNormals means whether or not the vertex coordinates contained a normal (a lighting coordinate.)

For example, the coordinates can also contain colors (hasColor) and positions, as well as some other things like I think weights and stuff.

Before, we assumed that if the coordinates didn't specify lighting at all, this meant lighting should not be applied. However, we found a game that did expect lighting to be applied even when it did not provide a normal (it seemed to use a default one pretty clearly.)

I took a quick look at JPCSP for this question now:
https://code.google.com/p/jpcsp/source/b...hader.vert

It seems to apply lighting even when there is no normal specified, although I may be reading it wrong. That said, it seems to use the default coordinate vec3(1.0, 0.0, 0.0) (I assume that's x, y, z?) They seem to normalize it, which I'll be honest - I'm not sure what that means for a coordinate (I'm not great with 3D, I don't know the terminology and suck at trig.) But, it does not seem like applying lighting without normals is wrong.

We just have to figure out what is right.

-[Unknown]

As long as the PSP has an internal vertex attribute state (which, having different formats input formats, it's likely, as it has to decompress/un-quantize them somewhere before using it), it's safe to assume it has some default normal. I don't really have the time to check it out, neither to skim documentation, just throwing ideas here Tongue

If PSPs GPU has internal state, then ,even when not providing that attribute in the vertex arrays, you would get lighting when enabling one of the lights.

About the vec3(1,0,0), in case you're interested, it's (x,y,z), and it's normalized because it has some nice properties, for example, the dot product of two normalized vectors is the cosine between those vectors, thus lighting is trivial to compute.

Good luck fixing that, emulating proprietary fixed GPUs is a PITA :/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-05-2013, 01:23 PM
Post: #11
RE: Some Graphics Issues
It was added in build 1100. Thanks [Unknown].

Phones: Poco F3 8GB/256GB (Snapdragon 870 5G) and Redmi Note 6 Pro 4/64GB (Snapdragon 636)

PC: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / 16GB RAM DDR4 3600MHz / NVIDIA GTX 1660 Ti 6GB / Windows 10 Pro
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2017, 08:14 AM (This post was last modified: 03-17-2017 08:33 AM by Asferot.)
Post: #12
RE: Some Graphics Issues
Try this...
MOD EDIT: Link removed. You were warned.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: