Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
autosave??
04-25-2013, 10:34 AM
Post: #1
autosave??
Autosave would be cool if implemented Blush
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2013, 01:42 PM
Post: #2
RE: autosave??
auto save state? there are some game with autosave build in too if you mean that
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2013, 01:46 PM
Post: #3
RE: autosave??
He mean game should be automatically auto save to a particular point in game.am i right??
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2013, 02:29 PM (This post was last modified: 04-25-2013 02:29 PM by vnctdj.)
Post: #4
RE: autosave??
I think that an autosave function is something strange, we should better use the save system of the game itself...

You have a kind of save anyway, if you press your "Escape" button you can do a "quicksave" : by clicking the "Save State"/"Load State" button you can save/load a precise moment in the game ! Wink

♦ Intel Core i7-6700HQ | 16 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M | Debian Testing
♦ Intel Core i7-2630QM | 4 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M | Debian Testing
♦ PSP-3004 | 6.60 PRO-C2
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2013, 03:15 PM
Post: #5
RE: autosave??
Yeah,this is easy.autosaving can cause other problems.u don't know where it is saving u'r game Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2013, 05:17 PM
Post: #6
RE: autosave??
Yeah, Maybe autosave can cause performance loss.

Phones: Galaxy S10 Lite and Redmi Note 6 Pro

PC: Core i5 3470/8GB RAM/GTX 660 2GB/Windows 10 Pro x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2013, 08:12 AM
Post: #7
RE: autosave??
and alot of crashes
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2013, 04:36 PM
Post: #8
RE: autosave??
Closed

Phones: Galaxy S10 Lite and Redmi Note 6 Pro

PC: Core i5 3470/8GB RAM/GTX 660 2GB/Windows 10 Pro x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2013, 07:30 AM
Post: #9
RE: autosave??
I don't know, it's not THAT crazy. Some emulators can even take a snapshot every second, then if Mario falls into a pit you can just press backspace a few times and warp back.

On a NES though, a savestate is about 2kb so you can have infinite amounts of them in RAM. On the PSP, even a compressed savestate is often 15-20 MB so we can't keep that many in RAM. On PCs though you could keep quite a few though...

The other issue with the bigger savestates is that it takes time to do the snapshot. You only have a few milliseconds to do it, otherwise you will notices a stutter every time the emu takes a snapshot. On fast PCs it may be possible to do it fast enough (we'll have to avoid clearing caches the way we do now though somehow), will be very hard on mobile though.

An alternative autosave model is to simply have a single savestate in RAM that you save to every minute or so, and write it to disk/permanent memory on a background thread. This approach might even be possible to do nicely on mobiles, but loading a savestate other than the very last one will be slower.

Of course there are even more possibilities.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: