Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Is there a way to play with a frameskipping value between 0 and 1?
12-08-2018, 12:13 PM
Post: #1
Is there a way to play with a frameskipping value between 0 and 1?
Sometimes I need Frameskipping but value 1 is too much
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2018, 04:32 AM
Post: #2
RE: Is there a way to play with a frameskipping value between 0 and 1?
No, you either draw a frame or skip number of frames, you can't skip less than a single frame.
At most you could skip a frame only every few frames being drawn, but that's not implemented in PPSSPP and also doesn't really have much sense to implement because while it might show higher fps at counter it looks horrible to human eye in practice, it results in an awful stutter and looks/feels worse than a smooth, yet lower framerate.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2018, 03:28 PM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2018 03:33 PM by qwer4321.)
Post: #3
RE: Is there a way to play with a frameskipping value between 0 and 1?
(12-09-2018 04:32 AM)LunaMoo Wrote:  No, you either draw a frame or skip number of frames, you can't skip less than a single frame.
At most you could skip a frame only every few frames being drawn, but that's not implemented in PPSSPP and also doesn't really have much sense to implement because while it might show higher fps at counter it looks horrible to human eye in practice, it results in an awful stutter and looks/feels worse than a smooth, yet lower framerate.


It's already where (in stupid way):
FrameSkipping=1
AutoFrameSkip - enable

And why so hard to make an option to draw 10 frames, then skip 1?
Some game's doesn't constantly updating whole screen - so it's more about making game running at full speed without choppy/crackling audio.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2018, 04:07 PM
Post: #4
RE: Is there a way to play with a frameskipping value between 0 and 1?
Auto frameskip doesn't do the same thing as the OP would like. It still drops full frame when full speed can't be maintained, the counter shows average which might be confusing if it kicks in for just a short time, but it's still full frames being skipped.

You don't understand, it's not hard to make option, as explained drawing more then skipping less is NOT smooth even if it shows higher fps at the fps counter. Considering people want more fps to smooth things out, this is counter productive and useless, more ui clutter for no benefit.

Also don't quote full post when replying right under it, that's dumb and annoying, makes the forums harder to read, in fact I'm tired to see your posts and going to hide them.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2018, 07:49 PM
Post: #5
RE: Is there a way to play with a frameskipping value between 0 and 1?
"Full frames" did OP asked skipping half frames?

Pal, read about PAL or NTSC. How 24fps morphed to 50-60 fps. In NTSC about 3-4 frames are skipped per second. And people are zombied by TV for decades now.


(12-13-2018 04:07 PM)LunaMoo Wrote:  Also don't quote full post when replying right under it, that's dumb
It's not me - it's forum engine.

> in fact I'm tired to see your posts and going to hide them.
I don't wright that much.
BTW can we hide posts with zero answers?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-20-2018, 11:43 AM
Post: #6
RE: Is there a way to play with a frameskipping value between 0 and 1?
Apparently so. If he isn't skipping "1" frame, then he's skipping either 0.1 or 0.9 which is practically impossible. You HAVE to skip a full frame. It makes absolutely no sense otherwise.

LunaMoo is provided an explanation on how it works, which if read properly, anyone can find out that the answer is no. So please, don't be aggressive to other users.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-22-2018, 09:12 PM
Post: #7
RE: Is there a way to play with a frameskipping value between 0 and 1?
Actually I was thinking of it, and I think skipping part of frame is possible - disable vertical sync. (can't be done at android there vSync always enabled).

And if you read what I have wrote - "draw 5 frames, skip 1". Number of frames skipped will be lower then 1 that way.

If you talking what it will be sluggish - NTSC- have 24 frames, which morphed to 48 half-frames, which then morphed to 60Hz refresh rate.
How many frames there duplicated = skipped?


Quote:don't be aggressive to other users.
Can you quote agressive text?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-24-2019, 07:58 AM
Post: #8
RE: Is there a way to play with a frameskipping value between 0 and 1?
It would totally be possible to have fractional frameskip, it would just result in sequences like "skip draw skip skip draw skip draw skip skip draw" which at least I consider much more annoying than a straight 30fps...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-14-2019, 08:39 AM
Post: #9
RE: Is there a way to play with a frameskipping value between 0 and 1?
nice and amazing sharing really appreciated thanks its amazing one
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: