Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Texture Replacement
07-13-2016, 01:51 AM
Post: #76
RE: Texture Replacement
While in the different region texture looks different, it's same size and it doesn't fail to load the png posted here, so it's probably not that.

Maybe it's some weird(performance?) problem with too many replacements. @derefonzie does it work if you rename your textures ini and create new one with just font replacement?

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2016, 06:59 AM
Post: #77
RE: Texture Replacement
(07-13-2016 01:51 AM)LunaMoo Wrote:  Maybe it's some weird(performance?) problem with too many replacements. @derefonzie does it work if you rename your textures ini and create new one with just font replacement?

I just tried this and unfortunately nothing changed - still encountering the problem.


(07-12-2016 11:28 PM)[Unknown] Wrote:  Just to confirm, if you create a 1x1 PNG that is solid red, and name it Text.png, does it show red instead of text? Or still give this exact same error?

-[Unknown]

Hmm, this is interesting.

I replaced the Text.png with a 1x1 solid red and it seemed to work:
   
(I am assuming that it doesn't appear red because the text is recoloured in-game)

After seeing that I tried scaling down my high res text.png from 1024x1024 to 512x512, 256x256 and 128x128. None of those sizes displayed at all except for 128x128 which showed this:
   
It may also be worth noting that the artifacts that appear on this screen changed slightly when I switched from fullscreen to a small window.

I don't know if that sheds any light on the issue for anybody?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2016, 10:25 AM
Post: #78
RE: Texture Replacement
Downloaded demo of US version of MHFU just to see if I can reproduce this and US demo weirdly uses font from EU version with just one extra glyph, also doesn't have any weird problems.


I don't think games can ever "see" scaled texture, even if it would download it to process it on the cpu like changing colors, it would be scaled to original size. Unless maybe there's some third party software/injector or gpu driver setting/hack that messes this up. Do you use any external(non ppsspp) enhancing features like that?

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2016, 10:44 AM
Post: #79
RE: Texture Replacement
Thank you to everybody. I have gotten around the problem at last.

I had my rendering backend set to Direct3D, changing it to OpenGL has fixed the problem. Still not sure I fully understand what was causing it, but at least it works now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2016, 11:08 AM (This post was last modified: 07-13-2016 11:14 AM by LunaMoo.)
Post: #80
RE: Texture Replacement
Oh D3d, we usually how to say it ~ care less about it.

I see what's the problem ~ not sure exactly where, but the texture get's inverted and by chance this in US version which has a bit narrow font moves it all to empty spaces, in EU version where the font is wider the problem is much clearer and shows upside down bottom glyphs. Also resizing window changes it into a broken mass of pixels. Edit: ~ Or actually maybe not inverted, each time I restart the game it looks broken in different way, not sure what's happening with this either, it even started replacing it correctly after I switched between some menus in demo:X.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2016, 04:20 PM
Post: #81
RE: Texture Replacement
Nice to see it got fixed, for me it usually ripped the font graphic several times, each with letters that were missing on the previous, but since i don't have access to my laptop atm i can't really show it, and i don't wanna test it on this low end laptop from 2006...

If there was a problem with too many replacements i would've seen it before, since as i said, i had most of the snowy mountains day and all of the forest and hills day&night replaced, along with more than 20 monsters and 10 mini map graphics + a few ui textures.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2016, 04:51 AM
Post: #82
RE: Texture Replacement
Be warned: if the texture shows 1 new letter each time, it may mean that it puts the letters on the grid dynamically. There may be some obscure scenario where it'll put them in a different letter, or place symbols there instead.

Interesting that D3D9 is broken - must be that the row stride/pitch is being set incorrectly...

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-17-2016, 01:49 AM
Post: #83
RE: Texture Replacement
Kinda random question, but would it be plausible to have something like an extra parameter for hashranges that forces a texture to appear as nearest neighbor in-game/emulator?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-25-2016, 12:44 PM (This post was last modified: 08-25-2016 10:52 PM by Trokinos.)
Post: #84
RE: Texture Replacement
That replacement feature is rather nice once you understand how to work with the hashes in texture.ini file (that puzzled me for a bit due to texture changing part of their name regularly)

[Image: sosXwtX.jpg]

Big Grin

edit : that's additionally a fantastic workaround for games in the SVR serie, that out of SVR06 had their Create a Wrestler severely limited in amount of layers ( only 16 , SVR06 at least had 32) , making you unable to recreate some wrestlers without compromising heavily on their attire.

But with the texture replacement, you can rework your CAW textures and improve them a lot, even adding many things that aren't existing in the games tatoo/decorations list

By example, a Razor Ramon CAW i did in SVR11 that i couldn't add the yellow razors in the kneepad, couldn't add all the Razor letters on the trunk , etc.. and that by simply replacing the texture with reworked ones, i simply could as there's no more limitation if you can rework the textures
[Image: mDqT6Ix.jpg]

I guess much better 2D artists could easily create amazing replacement stuffs for those games
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2016, 12:19 PM
Post: #85
RE: Texture Replacement
It works like a charm Heart


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-21-2016, 07:58 AM
Post: #86
RE: Texture Replacement
This is friggin awesome!


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-22-2016, 09:41 PM
Post: #87
RE: Texture Replacement
It's indeed a really cool feature

Trying to improve some of my CAW on SVR11 , by example the Ultimate Warrior mask that is impossible to do with the layer limitations and the lack of anything looking like it in the face paint/face mask from the stock game .

[Image: i2lJ6iC.jpg]

[Image: rg1hzC2.jpg]

Lots of fun.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-23-2016, 02:38 AM
Post: #88
RE: Texture Replacement
(09-21-2016 07:58 AM)DinJerr Wrote:  This is friggin awesome!

Nice, that might give me good reason to play Persona 3 again.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-26-2016, 05:33 AM (This post was last modified: 09-26-2016 05:35 AM by DinJerr.)
Post: #89
RE: Texture Replacement
More P3P texture pack WIP preview: Sharp and clear UI, new full bust portrait.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-11-2016, 10:07 AM
Post: #90
RE: Texture Replacement
Is there any way to stop dumping duplicate textures? Kinda annoying when trying to edit 90 or so textures... >_>'

Old laptop: Lenovo G458
AMD/ATI Radeon HD 7310 | [email protected] | APU E1-1200 Dual Core | 2.5 GB DDR3 400MHz | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

New laptop: Lenovo ideapad 100
Nvidia Geforce 920M 2GB / Intel HD Graphics 5500 | [email protected] | Intel Core i3-5005U 2GB | 2GB DDR3 2000MHz | Window 10 Home 64-bit
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: