Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Octacore
02-24-2016, 01:29 PM (This post was last modified: 02-24-2016 03:00 PM by robsonliu.)
Post: #1
Octacore
They should find a way to take advantage of all eight cores of my phone. If theres a way, please let me know.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-24-2016, 05:55 PM
Post: #2
RE: Octacore
The Vulkan and DirectX 12 are out, they promisse to make easier the multiple cores utilization and direct access to hardware, maybe it helps the emulation. Currently there's no emulator which uses that much cores, it's already hard to make it run on only one core or two, optimize it to many cores would take much time and would be a hard job.

But what's your processor? An AMD octa-core, a Midiatek octa-core or a "fake" Snapdragon/Exynos octa-core?

Phones: Poco F3 8/256GB (Snapdragon 870 5G) and Redmi Note 6 Pro 4/64GB (Snapdragon 636)

PC: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / 16GB RAM DDR4 3600MHz / NVIDIA GTX 660 2GB / Windows 10 Pro
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-24-2016, 07:24 PM
Post: #3
RE: Octacore
Mine's a MediaTek MT6753 1.3ghz octacore phone. Doesnt run games at fullspeed with ppsspp.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-24-2016, 07:51 PM
Post: #4
RE: Octacore
It's because your processor has a poor per-core performance. This processor is made to be powerful only when using all cores, and the most apps don't use 8 cores, only benchmarks.

Phones: Poco F3 8/256GB (Snapdragon 870 5G) and Redmi Note 6 Pro 4/64GB (Snapdragon 636)

PC: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / 16GB RAM DDR4 3600MHz / NVIDIA GTX 660 2GB / Windows 10 Pro
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-2016, 12:19 AM (This post was last modified: 02-25-2016 01:15 AM by robsonliu.)
Post: #5
RE: Octacore
Thats what im talking about. They should find a way of making use of all cores, with all the new phones coming up.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-2016, 12:43 PM
Post: #6
RE: Octacore
No, man, the future phones will be always more powerful, it won't be needed. Mediatek produce low-price processors, with low per-core performance, it's like AMD do with desktop's processors, but the developers always recommend Intel processors because of high per-core performance. Implementing multi-threading support is too hard, as I said before, they have more important things to do which will bring real improvements to emulator, like get better compatibility and fix bugs.

Phones: Poco F3 8/256GB (Snapdragon 870 5G) and Redmi Note 6 Pro 4/64GB (Snapdragon 636)

PC: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / 16GB RAM DDR4 3600MHz / NVIDIA GTX 660 2GB / Windows 10 Pro
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-27-2016, 12:09 AM
Post: #7
RE: Octacore
Would be awesome if it worked on my phone though.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-28-2016, 01:15 AM
Post: #8
RE: Octacore
I'm not sure I would expect great performance on 8 cores. The PSP is single threaded, so there are limits to how we can spread it out - PSP games aren't designed to take advantage of multiple cores. Someone would have to port the the games you're interested in to Android - maybe you should send that desire to the original developers of the game.

Vulkan may work on your device, and it may eventually be faster than it is now, but an 8x or even 4x speedup is pretty unlikely. Vulkan can reduce overhead, but it's not really going to make actual drawing go faster.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-28-2016, 02:09 AM
Post: #9
RE: Octacore
So does that multithread option in PPSSPP settings make any difference? I have it checked. My smartphone is the OnePlus One... Also what does the "fast memory option do? I also have it checked..
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-28-2016, 01:49 PM
Post: #10
RE: Octacore
Not sure how to install vulkan on my mediatek phone.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-28-2016, 08:04 PM
Post: #11
RE: Octacore
The multithreaded option can sometimes improve performance, but it also introduces bugs. With Vulkan, and possibly even GLES, we're planning to try a completely different method of threading at some point. It's unclear if that will have better performance, but it should have less bugs at least.

Fast memory allows for direct access to memory from the CPU emulation. In other words, pretty much like on a real PSP. The downside is that if there's a bug in PPSSPP, "fast memory" will much more often cause PPSSPP to crash. Unchecking it might allow the game to continue working (perhaps a bit glitchy) even if there are bugs.

I don't know what MediaTek's plans are for Vulkan exactly, but Vulkan was only released this same month, and isn't really available on many devices yet. It's still rolling out, and if it does (or has already) come to your phone, it will likely be part of an Android OS update.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-29-2016, 04:57 PM
Post: #12
RE: Octacore
Vulkan has been released few days ago, it's too early to you think about get it. We need an android version which supports Vulkan, compatible hardwares and, of course, support from PPSSPP.

Phones: Poco F3 8/256GB (Snapdragon 870 5G) and Redmi Note 6 Pro 4/64GB (Snapdragon 636)

PC: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / 16GB RAM DDR4 3600MHz / NVIDIA GTX 660 2GB / Windows 10 Pro
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-29-2016, 06:04 PM
Post: #13
RE: Octacore
Vulkan will probably not improve much. I wonder if it will ever work on my phone.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-29-2016, 06:30 PM
Post: #14
RE: Octacore
Why wouldn't improve?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_I8an8jXuM

Phones: Poco F3 8/256GB (Snapdragon 870 5G) and Redmi Note 6 Pro 4/64GB (Snapdragon 636)

PC: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / 16GB RAM DDR4 3600MHz / NVIDIA GTX 660 2GB / Windows 10 Pro
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-29-2016, 07:28 PM
Post: #15
RE: Octacore
I can start testing any Vulkan additions to PPSSPP right now with my Shield TV. Wink
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: