Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
03-31-2014, 06:15 PM
Post: #1
(Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
What the title said Lol

Does data install improve performance? [/align]

My specs
Huawie Honor 4C
Octa-Core 1.2 GHz
2GB Ram
Mali 450 mp GPU
720x1280 pixels
Current Version : 1.4.2
Low end phones
Check My Profile For Tested Games(Bio Section)
Testing multiplayer
Contact me on Twitter @BradEDias for help with ppsspp
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-31-2014, 06:44 PM
Post: #2
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
No it does not. It was explained in a previous thread.

Catch me if you can't catch me if you can't Cats are nice.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-31-2014, 06:54 PM
Post: #3
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
its for the umd, lessen loading times
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-31-2014, 06:55 PM
Post: #4
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
Yeah, but this does not apply to PPSSPP.

Catch me if you can't catch me if you can't Cats are nice.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-31-2014, 10:18 PM
Post: #5
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
It helps a lot on a real PSP when running from a real disc, but as there is no physical UMD to spin in PPSSPP, there's no benefit. Some games will force you to install before letting you play though (e.g. MGS Peace Walker, .hack//Link), and there's not much that can be done about it.

tl;dr: If not required by the game in question, it's a waste of space, so don't bother.

3.8ghz i7 5930K, 16GB DDR4 RAM, 4GB Nvidia GTX 970, Asus X99 PRO, Windows 7 (SP1) x64
How to ask useful questions: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555375
I'm not Dark_Alex, nor do I claim to be. Our nicknames are merely coincidence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-01-2014, 05:47 AM
Post: #6
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
Thanks

My specs
Huawie Honor 4C
Octa-Core 1.2 GHz
2GB Ram
Mali 450 mp GPU
720x1280 pixels
Current Version : 1.4.2
Low end phones
Check My Profile For Tested Games(Bio Section)
Testing multiplayer
Contact me on Twitter @BradEDias for help with ppsspp
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-02-2014, 12:21 PM
Post: #7
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
djmax clazziquai is another exception.
using data install is still useless, but there's a "installed data" file that fixes some problems and enables a harder version of some songs and the "story" mode.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-02-2014, 12:25 PM
Post: #8
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
Also voice overs in Mana Khemia battles don't play if you don't use data install

Using PPSSPP on Windows 7 x64 SP1
i7 4771 3.5Ghz,GTX750TI,16GB RAM

Batch iso <=> cso converter
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5384
Save Game\States Manager
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=5516
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-26-2014, 09:16 PM
Post: #9
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
Actually this it not true in all cases.
In MHU for example you get to see weapon previews in the shop, but only if you installed the data. So it might not be a difference in speed, but can change things.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-26-2014, 09:38 PM (This post was last modified: 05-26-2014 09:39 PM by vnctdj.)
Post: #10
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
I own MHFU and I can see weapons previews without installing data...

♦ Intel Core i7-6700HQ | 16 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M | Debian Testing
♦ Intel Core i7-2630QM | 4 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M | Debian Testing
♦ PSP-3004 | 6.60 PRO-C2
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-27-2014, 05:58 AM (This post was last modified: 05-27-2014 05:59 AM by nc50lc.)
Post: #11
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
I think he means "automatic preview ". When you install data on MHFU, the equipments from shop will show its previews automatically; otherwise you have to press the specified button.

| Testing Rig: Windows7 PC |
->Proc: Intel Core2Duo E8400
->GPU: Nvidia GTX550se GDDR5 1Gb
->RAM: 4GB DDR2
| Android Phone[/b]: KitKat v4.4.2 |
->Proc: 1.2Ghz Broadcom CPU
->GPU: Videocore IV HW
->Ram: 1Gb
| My Links[/b]: web/youtube |
->http://randomace.tk
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-27-2014, 03:06 PM
Post: #12
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
Oh, I misunderstood then ! Undecided
Thank you nc50lc, I didn't know about this little feature Smile

♦ Intel Core i7-6700HQ | 16 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M | Debian Testing
♦ Intel Core i7-2630QM | 4 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M | Debian Testing
♦ PSP-3004 | 6.60 PRO-C2
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-27-2014, 10:34 PM
Post: #13
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
(03-31-2014 06:15 PM)xboxmandude Wrote:  What the title said Lol

Does data install improve performance? [/align]

i dont know how old you guys are but im 28 years old and i remember times where biggest hdd among kinds in your city was like 10GB and max speed for CD-ROMs (DVDs didnt exit yet) was x16 - where most kids had like 3-5 GB HDD and x4-x8 CD speed

and so around 90% of games at installation was giving you option - do you want to make full install (all data go to HDD and will be reeded/loaded from it) or you want to make minimal install (where only necessary files will go to HDD and rest will be loaded from CD) some games had medium install but nvm that

anyway what i learned from that was fact that its better to have bigger HDD than faster CD
cause games will load faster from HDD always and so in many games even when games loaded from CD some features ware disabled and was available only with FULL installation (in most cases some graphic effects ware disabled sometimes CD had lower quality of music or music was getting choppy when some locations ware loading)

and im telling you all this cause today we have huuuuge HDDs (my 1st hdd had 1GB LOL) and even if ppl download/rip tones of psp games (no matter how they get them) then i wont believe that person who do so dont have like 5-10 GB of extra space on which ALL games that he/she have on hdd could install that extra data that some psp games requires


and so i dont know how for you all but for me its obvious that if game provides data install than its cause it will let the game load some stuff faster
and now you think ok but i have psp game image so all is on hdd so it will load it fast anyway

and yep thats true but when you select not to install that extra data (on pc+emulator) than for game its like it still reads it from UMD so some features would be disabled to optimize performance


so my suggestion is better install all s#!7 game provide and dont give a [email protected]©k
that few GB wont kill anybody


someone teach me how to make shorter posts

this is how idea of installing extra data back in my days was like

[Image: d1T1Bz1.gif]

Try AntiMicro graphical program used to map keyboard keys and mouse controls to a gamepad/controller.
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=12513
or http://www.x360ce.com
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-28-2014, 03:11 AM
Post: #14
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
Hi. I need your help. I already followed the steps. However, it still giving me lags. I am playing tekken 6. I am using Samsung galaxy Note 3.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-28-2014, 06:20 AM
Post: #15
RE: (Probably been asked) does data install improve performance?
(05-28-2014 03:11 AM)Jhedz0523 Wrote:  Hi. I need your help. I already followed the steps. However, it still giving me lags. I am playing tekken 6. I am using Samsung galaxy Note 3.

Tekken 6 is quite a demanding game. Have you tried using frameskip?

My specs:
Phenom X3 8450 ~2.3GHz
PowerColor HD6850 1GB
4 gigs of DDR2-800 RAM
~400GB HDD
Windows 8.0 x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: