Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Controller support for 0.9.8
03-27-2014, 02:03 AM
Post: #1
Controller support for 0.9.8
Just upgraded to 9.8 and tried running a couple games. It wouldnt reconize my game controller. I tried resetting the controller mapping but it still wouldnt reconize it at all.

So i closed 9.8 and opened 9.6, no issues at all, controller started working right away.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-2014, 05:24 AM
Post: #2
RE: Controller support for 0.9.8
if you would be so kind as to tell us which controller and which OS you are using that would be nice
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-2014, 07:30 AM (This post was last modified: 03-27-2014 07:40 AM by nc50lc.)
Post: #3
RE: Controller support for 0.9.8
On android...
My DS3 controller's analog stick (R&L) sometimes doesn't work on ppsspp 0.9.7 above, but fixes itself after I restart the emulator. I'm always updating the ppsspp build that I use, downloaded from github. Idk if the problem started from 0.9.7/0.9.6 or just me. XD
I tried to confirm if it is not the emulator's fault, but my other apps seems to work fine with the controller.

Anyone encountered the same problem?

| Testing Rig: Windows7 PC |
->Proc: Intel Core2Duo E8400
->GPU: Nvidia GTX550se GDDR5 1Gb
->RAM: 4GB DDR2
| Android Phone[/b]: KitKat v4.4.2 |
->Proc: 1.2Ghz Broadcom CPU
->GPU: Videocore IV HW
->Ram: 1Gb
| My Links[/b]: web/youtube |
->http://randomace.tk
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-2014, 02:23 PM
Post: #4
RE: Controller support for 0.9.8
(03-27-2014 05:24 AM)Bigpet Wrote:  if you would be so kind as to tell us which controller and which OS you are using that would be nice

Sure thing, im running windows 7 and its a Logitech controller, looks like a playstation controller. Like i said, no issues with .9.6, just issue wiht .9.8
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-2014, 03:11 PM
Post: #5
RE: Controller support for 0.9.8
@tdawgx you use direct input or x input mode?

Also win7 here(x64), and my logitech works fine with 0.9.8 as well as with the latest one(v0.9.8-142-g36bdd99), I always use xinput through.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-2014, 03:16 PM
Post: #6
RE: Controller support for 0.9.8
honestly, i ddont know. I just plug controller into usb port. I havnt changed any of the settings.

I tried it again a little while ago, it worked for a few mins, then stopped responding, i think ill stick with the 9.6, no issues wiht that one at all Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-27-2014, 03:43 PM
Post: #7
RE: Controller support for 0.9.8
Unless your pad is very old, or something new without such functionality, logitech gamepads usually have a small switch on the bottomside: d / x, no need to mess with windows to instantly switch modes with it. If you have this on "d" ~ try changing to "x", dinput generally is usefull only for old pc apps/games or when it's the only option as in older pads.

I think input code was changed recently only once - after last release, so this shouldn't be your issue. On the other hand, try the latest version from here, it will have those recent input changes which 0.9.8 didn't had, so it might improve your situation.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2014, 01:04 PM
Post: #8
RE: Controller support for 0.9.8
I had build 0.9.8 from the git sources (12-06-2014) for Qt4.
Controller works fine, but it seems PPSSPP doesn't support hotplug (when you connect controller while you're running PPSSPP).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2014, 01:12 PM (This post was last modified: 06-13-2014 01:13 PM by Bigpet.)
Post: #9
RE: Controller support for 0.9.8
(06-13-2014 01:04 PM)sirpingus Wrote:  I had build 0.9.8 from the git sources (12-06-2014) for Qt4.
Controller works fine, but it seems PPSSPP doesn't support hotplug (when you connect controller while you're running PPSSPP).

Yep, that's right, it opens all SDL joysticks at startup and doesn't look after that. Same for DInput. The XInput backend should basically be hot-plug ready but none of the other ones are. But like I said in the github commit comment many games don't even support hotplugging, so I didn't feel like much would be lost by not worrying about hot-plugging.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-14-2014, 08:30 PM (This post was last modified: 06-14-2014 08:30 PM by sirpingus.)
Post: #10
RE: Controller support for 0.9.8
Well. I don't want to force any ideas, but I think I'm not the only one with this wish.
If user will be able to force controller detection manually, it would make program more comfortable.
I see that this feature might not be implemented in the next stable release, but IMHO this should be in the roadmap.

I realize that PSP is a gaming machine and controller closed in one housing, so games can "assume" that controller is connected (it's on board).
But PC/Mac is specific type of devices, where gamepad is an optional peripheral.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-14-2014, 08:59 PM
Post: #11
RE: Controller support for 0.9.8
(06-14-2014 08:30 PM)sirpingus Wrote:  Well. I don't want to force any ideas, but I think I'm not the only one with this wish.

Oh, for sure. I wasn't trying to say that it's not a valid feature request. I was just mentioning why I didn't bother to implement it while I was implementing multiple DInput support. I'm just not very interested in ti. But I'm sure if someone makes a pull request with that feature it would not be denied.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: