Logging memory with the debugger
|
10-28-2022, 11:11 PM
Post: #1
|
|||
|
|||
Logging memory with the debugger
Is it possible to log memory values with debugger?
For example: if I have 0x089160c in a1 and said address contains the value 0x7a, could I log said value (0x7a) instead of the value in the register (0x089160c)?. |
|||
10-29-2022, 01:13 AM
Post: #2
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Logging memory with the debugger
Inside log expressions you can reference memory, yes.
I believe the syntax in this case would be: Code: Hit breakpoint, value at a1 is: {[a1,8]} Where simply {a1} would log the value of a1 itself. -[Unknown] |
|||
10-30-2022, 04:25 PM
Post: #3
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Logging memory with the debugger
{[a1,8]} doesn't work. It gives me Invalid log format error. It accepts {[a1]} but logs nothing.
|
|||
10-30-2022, 05:40 PM
Post: #4
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Logging memory with the debugger
Sorry, {[a1,4]} would log 4 bytes (32-bits.) You're right, my example of 8 won't work as it doesn't support 64-bit log values.
If it logs nothing, are you sure your breakpoint is being hit? Even without a log format, it will log something, it'll just be generic. You can put words outside the {} to make sure. For example, just yesterday I was logging things using {[[[[a0]+0x78]+0x34]+0x2c]}. -[Unknown] |
|||
10-31-2022, 12:03 AM
Post: #5
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Logging memory with the debugger
Yes, {[a1,4]} does works. Can log an offset too with {[a1-x},4]}, but can't log offset 0x1 or 0x3.
However, it sometimes doesn't log any value, produces the log itself but not the value or the any text after it. |
|||
11-01-2022, 06:10 AM
Post: #6
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Logging memory with the debugger
If you use the latest git build, I recently removed the alignment restriction - not really sure why it was there.
I think it may truncate the string if it can't evaluate the expression inside the {}, so if it became unaligned or was garbage that might've caused it to break. I think the latest git will work better. -[Unknown] |
|||
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »
|