forums.PPSSPP.org
Memory Leak - Printable Version

+- forums.PPSSPP.org (https://forums.ppsspp.org)
+-- Forum: PPSSPP - Playstation Portable Simulator Suitable for Playing Portably (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Development (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: Memory Leak (/showthread.php?tid=7226)



Memory Leak - instinct46 - 11-05-2013 08:08 PM

Emulator: PPSSPP V0.9.5
Game: Carnage Heart EXA (English)
OS: Windows 7 64bit
Graphic Card: Radeon HD6670 1GB
Memory: 8GB DDR3

My game completely froze up the first time this happened and windows was slow at responding to anything, it took a couple of minute to even CTRL+ALT+DEL, anyway when I got into processes I noticed that PPSSPP was using just above 5.5GB in memory.

Anyway I turn the game of every hour or so after saving. I check before turning the game off and after about an hour the emulator is racking up about 2.5GB in memory.

The game is still playable so its not really a problem for me at the moment, but I imagine if someone has a smaller amount of memory than me it could become a problem quite quickly.

Also I used to only have 3GB on my last system and I think I was using PPSSPP V0.9.2 or 0.9.3, I never noticed this problem then with carnage heart EXA and I played it alot.

**EDITED** Forgot to put my OS, Graphic Card and Memory Details
Took a few minute to watch the memory being held by the program, and it appears that when ever it receives any input from the xbox pad it jumps by about (20mb * 3) for ever input. I'll try with my keyboard in the morning to see if it does the same or if it only happens for the xbox pad.


RE: Memory Leak - xsacha - 11-06-2013 12:15 AM

Mmm must be a problem with the xbox pad code.
Definitely not having the issue on mobile devices.


RE: Memory Leak - [Unknown] - 11-06-2013 12:44 AM

If you play with the keyboard it doesn't happen?

You're using an official Xbox 360 controller?

Your Radeon drivers do NOT have Catalyst AI enabled (known to cause a problem like this)?

-[Unknown]


RE: Memory Leak - instinct46 - 11-06-2013 06:55 AM

Still happens with the original xbox 360 pad unplugged. The memory jumps in two segments which are either 10mb then 20mb or 20mn then 10mb (not exact, but close).

I disabled cataylst AI the problem persisted.

I tried persona 3 and it doesn't seem to have the leak.

One thing I have noticed is when creating logos in carnage heart the image themselves disable an reappear every now and again while drawing. So this might be leaving bits in the wrong part of memory and is causing the controller memory leak issue.

**EDIT**

I turned off mipmapping, audio and anisotropic (individually of cause), still happening.


RE: Memory Leak - vsub_ - 11-06-2013 07:37 AM

Try turning off Hardware Transform.
I have nvidia card but before when I used old drivers,similar problem would appear if Hardware Transform was enabled.

It is possible to be video card drivers related(like my problem)


RE: Memory Leak - instinct46 - 11-06-2013 05:11 PM

Its not Hardware Transform either, cheers anyway. I'm quite puzzled as to what it could be, just because the two jumps in memory are around 30mb which for just pressing a button is quite a large jump, its like its reloading a resource each time a button is pressed.


RE: Memory Leak - instinct46 - 11-06-2013 07:11 PM

Looking at the debug console I have the following things in red:

E(KERNEL): HLE\sceKernelThread.cpp:3065 Failed to access deferred info for thread: user_main
E(ME): HLE\sceMpeg.cpp:848 UNIMPL sceMpegAvcDecodeFlush(09fff440)
E(ME): HLE\sceAtrac.cpp:1329 UNIMPL sceAtracIsSecondBufferNeeded(0)

and in Yellow:

W(ME): HLE\sceMp3.cpp:345 UNIMPL: sceMp3InitResource
W(SCEGE): GLES\Framebuffer.cpp:777 FB0 sharing existing depthbuffer (unsupported), 00000000/00088000 and 00044000/00088000
W(SCEGE): GLES\Framebuffer.cpp:773 FB0 sharing existing depthbuffer (unsupported), 00088000/00110000 and 00044000/00088000
W(SCEGE): GLES\Framebuffer.cpp:773 FB0 sharing existing depthbuffer (unsupported), 00088000/00110000 and 00000000/00088000
W(ME): HLE\sceAtrac.cpp:1120 This is an atrac3+ stero audio

-------------------------------

I just noticed if I go into the logo creator for the robots and then come out of that, it drastically slows down the size per key press of memory leak.


RE: Memory Leak - [Unknown] - 11-07-2013 06:30 AM

Hmm, I wonder if it is a bug specific to this game. It's not impossible.

Do you have any other games, and if so, does it happen in any of them?

-[Unknown]


RE: Memory Leak - instinct46 - 11-07-2013 06:06 PM

Games I've tried:

- Carnage Heart EXA (English) - Memory Leak
- Persona 3 (Dubbed) - No
- Sword Art Online (Jap) - Memory Leak (but very small, took awhile before the memory got to just under 600mb)

I'll uninstall PPSSPP and try different versions, it very well could be the drivers I have on my PC haven't had this one long enough to the little quirks it may hold.