forums.PPSSPP.org
DirectInput default buttons are incorrect - Printable Version

+- forums.PPSSPP.org (https://forums.ppsspp.org)
+-- Forum: PPSSPP - Playstation Portable Simulator Suitable for Playing Portably (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Development (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: DirectInput default buttons are incorrect (/showthread.php?tid=5135)



DirectInput default buttons are incorrect - vsub_ - 07-28-2013 03:09 PM

Aren't the buttons supposed to be set like this
L1 - B5
R1 - B6
Triangle - B4
Square - B1
Cross - B2
Circle - B2

Currently they are
L1 - B7
R1 - B8
Triangle - B1
Square - B4
Cross - B2
Circle - B3


RE: DirectInput default buttons are incorrect - The Phoenix - 07-28-2013 05:04 PM

(07-28-2013 03:09 PM)vsub_ Wrote:  Aren't the buttons supposed to be set like this
L1 - B5
R1 - B6
Triangle - B4
Square - B1
Cross - B2
Circle - B2

Currently they are
L1 - B7
R1 - B8
Triangle - B1
Square - B4
Cross - B2
Circle - B3

You can re-map the controls you know to what you want to use them for....
Here is my setup for my USB to PC (PS2 Dual Shock Pad).
[attachment=6636]


RE: DirectInput default buttons are incorrect - vsub_ - 07-28-2013 05:31 PM

I know that I can reconfigure them...I was talking about the default configuration.
Before I didn't need to do anything but now every time I try new beta,I have to reconfigure the controls to the correct default controls.

Currently on PlayStation like controller they are
PSP - Controller
L1 - L2
R1 - R2
Triangle - Square
Square - Triangle
Cross - Cross
Circle - Circle


RE: DirectInput default buttons are incorrect - solarmystic - 07-28-2013 06:09 PM

@vsub

Dinput isn't particularly implemented uniformly across all controllers, unlike the default XInput button config which is standardized across all 360 compatible controllers.

So different controllers would have different buttons represented by the corresponding Dinput buttons. Changing the defaults to yours may upset other Dinput controllers, etc.


RE: DirectInput default buttons are incorrect - vsub_ - 07-28-2013 06:35 PM

I'm not saying to change the controls to mach my controller.
I'm saying to restore them to the previous settings(when Options=>Controls worked)...then I didn't need to change anything.


RE: DirectInput default buttons are incorrect - Shadow Lady - 07-28-2013 07:21 PM

It depends what you consider "correct" defaults. Due to the way each brand/device can have different DInput button defaults there's not a single default that will work for them all. (XInput devices on the other hand should always match)

Heck I went from some old logitech controller to a newer logitech one and they didnt match either even being the same brand and using same drivers.

If I had to guess they maybe changed the defaults cause it was incorrect to whoever set the new defaults...


RE: DirectInput default buttons are incorrect - The Phoenix - 07-28-2013 08:46 PM

Each time you use a new Beta (I take it you mean from here: http://buildbot.orphis.net/ppsspp/index.php
When I download a new updated version, I extract it onto my desktop the folder, then open that folder & drag & drop the contents into my old version, that way it leaves my PPSSPP.ini intact with my controller settings, so need to keep on re-mapping your controller as they will be saved.

SIMPLE AS THAT............


RE: DirectInput default buttons are incorrect - vsub_ - 07-28-2013 09:27 PM

I have many ppsspp revs for testing purposes and I was doing the same thing(copying the old ini file to the new folder)until I found a problem.

Old settings are not always compatible with newer betas.
For example...when I was copying my settings from 0.8.1-589 to some newer rev(forgot which one)and I tried to run Crimson Gem Saga,the game was a complete mess(not playable at all if buffered rendering was enabled).
But when I deleted the settings and started the game again,everything was fine,even with buffered rendering enabled.


RE: DirectInput default buttons are incorrect - The Phoenix - 07-28-2013 10:37 PM

(07-28-2013 09:27 PM)vsub_ Wrote:  I have many ppsspp revs for testing purposes and I was doing the same thing(copying the old ini file to the new folder)until I found a problem.

Old settings are not always compatible with newer betas.
For example...when I was copying my settings from 0.8.1-589 to some newer rev(forgot which one)and I tried to run Crimson Gem Saga,the game was a complete mess(not playable at all if buffered rendering was enabled).
But when I deleted the settings and started the game again,everything was fine,even with buffered rendering enabled.
Mmm Good point, sometimes that does happen, but until we get individual game settings implemented I find that most new revisions work fine just drag & dropping into the old folder, its just the odd game like Crimson Gem Saga as you mentioned doesn't like it.
For instance I was finding Gran Turismo crashing after the logos appeared straight to the desktop, but solved that by deleting the save folder of that game, let the game create a new one, it runs happily again now.

Every problem has a solution........Its just working out what it is. LOL Big Grin
And that's where us testers come into it, if we can't figure it out then the developers hopefully will!!!!!