forums.PPSSPP.org
How to Force CPU Process? - Printable Version

+- forums.PPSSPP.org (https://forums.ppsspp.org)
+-- Forum: PPSSPP - Playstation Portable Simulator Suitable for Playing Portably (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Development (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: How to Force CPU Process? (/showthread.php?tid=5016)



How to Force CPU Process? - azzuryo - 07-22-2013 07:26 AM

Sorry for my bad english...

PPSSPP is the greatest emulator I ever use.
Very light and SIMPLE...

it's powerful emulator to running game on *full FPS with minimum used process on CPU (only 30% of my CPU) and only used RAM around 120mb.
[Image: znmo1h.jpg]

But on the GPU process above 75% on my Radeon 5770.

What if CPU process help GPU process and RAM help VRAM, can make it more powerful emulator??..

*my full FPS sometimes get dropped on random moment, especially when load new world or geometry on real time. Ex: when you look behind or near the finish line on GranTurismo.

Thank you for making this emulator, it's very useful and Sorry for my bad english...


RE: Force CPU Process - solarmystic - 07-22-2013 07:39 AM

The emulator only uses a small amount of your CPU because it is only limited to one CPU core at the moment, it is not multithreaded.

It is a good thing that you're not CPU limited, a high GPU utlization on your Radeon 5770 means that your CPU is coping well with the emulator.

You should only be worried if the GPU is getting 100% utilization and your Speed drops.

Speed is the only metric to be worried about, in terms of well your PC is doing in this emulator.

FPS (which is different) drops means that the emulator itself is as fault.

You can refer to your screenshot.


RE: Force CPU Process - azzuryo - 07-22-2013 08:04 AM

(07-22-2013 07:39 AM)solarmystic Wrote:  The emulator only uses a small amount of your CPU because it is only limited to one CPU core at the moment, it is not multithreaded.

It is a good thing that you're not CPU limited, a high GPU utlization on your Radeon 5770 means that your CPU is coping well with the emulator.

You should only be worried if the GPU is getting 100% utilization and your Speed drops.

Speed is the only metric to be worried about, in terms of well your PC is doing in this emulator.

FPS (which is different) drops means that the emulator itself is as fault.

You can refer to your screenshot.

Thank you for your explanation... I Understand now..
No offense but why sometimes bit lag at random moment, especially when load new world or geometry on real time? My RAM is have more space but PPSSPP only used around 120mb. (I don't know how to see VRAM usage)

Sorry for my bad english (correct me)


RE: Force CPU Process - xZabuzax - 07-22-2013 08:20 AM

(07-22-2013 08:04 AM)azzuryo Wrote:  No offense but why sometimes bit lag at random moment, especially when load new world or geometry on real time?

This usually happens if Texture Scaling is enabled (2x and above).

The reason it sometimes lags at new scenes is because the texture is being loaded into the memory or something, once it's loaded it will stop lagging.

(At least that's what i think is happening...)


RE: Force CPU Process - solarmystic - 07-22-2013 08:27 AM

(07-22-2013 08:20 AM)xZabuzax Wrote:  This usually happens if Texture Scaling is enabled (2x and above).

The reason it sometimes lags at new scenes is because the texture is being loaded into the memory or something, once it's loaded it will stop lagging.

(At least that's what i think is happening...)

Bingo.

The main problem with the current Texture Scaling implementation is that it is performed on the CPU, and also, using the same thread/core as the main program, so the operation is not parellelized and will often interrupt the main emulator thread that's also dealing with the sound.

(Sound is also processed on the very same core, which is why hitches to the performance also causes drop outs in the sound production)

This is very evident if you render a scene which is highly volatile (ones that introduce a lot of continously changing objects and elements to the screen), the hitches will be very, very obvious at higher Texture Scaling setings.

A GPU based implementation would be much, much faster.


RE: Force CPU Process - xZabuzax - 07-22-2013 08:35 AM

You always take your time with those awesome and detailed explanation, i like that =p


RE: Force CPU Process - azzuryo - 07-22-2013 08:46 AM

(07-22-2013 08:35 AM)xZabuzax Wrote:  You always take your time with those awesome and detailed explanation, i like that =p

Me too..
PPSSPP developed by awesome guy...