forums.PPSSPP.org
someone please add AUTOSAVE - Printable Version

+- forums.PPSSPP.org (https://forums.ppsspp.org)
+-- Forum: PPSSPP - Playstation Portable Simulator Suitable for Playing Portably (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Development (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: someone please add AUTOSAVE (/showthread.php?tid=3575)

Pages: 1 2


someone please add AUTOSAVE - lusoawe123 - 05-23-2013 12:06 AM

ive been playing disgaea in the item world for 10hours
and then had to go somewhere so saved on the ppsspp savestate

but later when i tried to
load back my previous savestate I f**kin accidently press the save button and not the load button........

NOOOOOO.....

I was so close mastering Yoshitsuna.......



SO anyway PLEASE please add autosave so people like me who has thicktumbs don't make stupid lame mistakes.....


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - Ritori - 05-23-2013 05:47 AM

U got same accident as me but i use PC Tongue

Is they any auto save for pc or press F1 for save and F2 for load??


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - supaman - 05-23-2013 07:04 AM

Haha that happened to me for dragon ball z as well, maybe the developers should implement like an "are you sure" prompt


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - aki21 - 05-23-2013 08:12 AM

same here,the original way of saving is the best and safest(not all games save work though),well if you use quicksave it another matter,using the normal loadstates is a pain in the ass sometimes,but savestate also convenience for me when fighting boss in certain games(hehe,cheating a bit),but supaman idea is good too"are you sure" prompt sure will evade doing mistakeSmile


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - Ritori - 05-23-2013 08:40 AM

Yup i hope it evade some people will ignore it and press it withough thinking much then they know they make one....
but supaman has good idea Smile


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - vnctdj - 05-23-2013 04:29 PM

(05-23-2013 05:47 AM)Ritori Wrote:  U got same accident as me but i use PC Tongue

Is they any auto save for pc or press F1 for save and F2 for load??

There is a quicksave function, you have to press F4 to load the savestate and F2 to save the savestate :

[Image: 232961781.png]

(05-23-2013 07:04 AM)supaman Wrote:  Haha that happened to me for dragon ball z as well, maybe the developers should implement like an "are you sure" prompt

I not agree with an "Are you sure ?" prompt because it will break the fact that this is a quicksave ! Undecided

I better agree to implement multiple savestate slots as Razorback said in another thread :

(05-23-2013 12:55 AM)Razorback Wrote:  My suggestion, I think it's better to implement multiple save state slots (add one hotkey to switch state slot) instead of maunally naming your own state, as in what other emulator have done.



RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - supaman - 05-24-2013 06:16 AM

(05-23-2013 04:29 PM)vnctdj Wrote:  
(05-23-2013 05:47 AM)Ritori Wrote:  U got same accident as me but i use PC Tongue

Is they any auto save for pc or press F1 for save and F2 for load??

There is a quicksave function, you have to press F4 to load the savestate and F2 to save the savestate :

[Image: 232961781.png]

(05-23-2013 07:04 AM)supaman Wrote:  Haha that happened to me for dragon ball z as well, maybe the developers should implement like an "are you sure" prompt

I not agree with an "Are you sure ?" prompt because it will break the fact that this is a quicksave ! Undecided

I better agree to implement multiple savestate slots as Razorback said in another thread :

(05-23-2013 12:55 AM)Razorback Wrote:  My suggestion, I think it's better to implement multiple save state slots (add one hotkey to switch state slot) instead of maunally naming your own state, as in what other emulator have done.

Lol it will probably take the same time choosing a save state as it would clicking yes or no, but either way it fixes the problem and that's all that matters


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - caiskove - 05-25-2013 09:45 AM

I am also against a confirmation prompt, It would get tedious really fast and it disrupts the game too much.
I think pcsx2 did something like saving before loading, and then you could return to that last save in case you fucked up.
Even if this isn't done a confirmation prompt is probably one of the worst ways to handle it.


(05-24-2013 06:16 AM)supaman Wrote:  Lol it will probably take the same time choosing a save state as it would clicking yes or no, but either way it fixes the problem and that's all that matters
I think you may have a misunderstanding when you press F2 in the pc version it quicksaves, that meaning it just makes a savefile you will load when you press F4, it doesn't interrupt the gameplay in any way, no dialog, no choosing save state.


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - Ritori - 05-25-2013 10:52 AM

How about accident input liked lusoawe123 said, so i not again about that prompt Smile


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - supaman - 05-25-2013 11:14 AM

[/quote]
I think you may have a misunderstanding when you press F2 in the pc version it quicksaves, that meaning it just makes a savefile you will load when you press F4, it doesn't interrupt the gameplay in any way, no dialog, no choosing save state.
[/quote]

Oh right I wasn't really considering the PC version, I only test on android so yea; the problem he mentioned is unlikely to happen on PC though since there is a button between the 2 unlike the android version


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - arg274 - 05-25-2013 12:28 PM

just add a "dont warn me again" checkbox below the confirmation dialog.that settles the problem of both of u guys.


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - vnctdj - 05-27-2013 06:51 PM

(05-25-2013 12:28 PM)arg274 Wrote:  just add a "dont warn me again" checkbox below the confirmation dialog.that settles the problem of both of u guys.

Maybe it would be good for Android but I still prefer multiple save state slots for Windows...


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - supaman - 05-28-2013 04:39 AM

(05-27-2013 06:51 PM)vnctdj Wrote:  
(05-25-2013 12:28 PM)arg274 Wrote:  just add a "dont warn me again" checkbox below the confirmation dialog.that settles the problem of both of u guys.

Maybe it would be good for Android but I still prefer multiple save state slots for Windows...

Yes I think out of the options we have multiple save slots would be best for both windows and android


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - vnctdj - 05-28-2013 05:14 PM

(05-28-2013 04:39 AM)supaman Wrote:  
(05-27-2013 06:51 PM)vnctdj Wrote:  
(05-25-2013 12:28 PM)arg274 Wrote:  just add a "dont warn me again" checkbox below the confirmation dialog.that settles the problem of both of u guys.

Maybe it would be good for Android but I still prefer multiple save state slots for Windows...

Yes I think out of the options we have multiple save slots would be best for both windows and android

Yes, multiple save state slots is a good thing :
I played some Sega Master System and GameBoy Color games on my PSP via an emulator (EmuMaster), it has multiple save state slots and it was very nice, the slots can be changed with a simple keys combination Smile


RE: someone please add AUTOSAVE - Orphis - 05-30-2013 01:36 PM

Save states are useful but unreliable. That's why you should always use ingame saves to be sure.