forums.PPSSPP.org
Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Printable Version

+- forums.PPSSPP.org (https://forums.ppsspp.org)
+-- Forum: PPSSPP - Playstation Portable Simulator Suitable for Playing Portably (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: General Discussion and Announcements (/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z (/showthread.php?tid=2214)

Pages: 1 2


Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Edinoo - 03-30-2013 03:16 PM

Hello all

first off, awesome work your doing!!

I got an Xperia Z
(4.1 Jelly Bean 1,5 GHz Qualcomm APQ8064+MDM9215M Quad-Core Processor, Graphic Adreno 320, 2 GB RAM, Full-HD Display)

I am trying to play Dragonball Z Shin Budokai but I'm getting only 33 - 39 FPS Ingame.
Now on the new Version (v0.7-317-g7425532) I just tried, I get here better results, 36-43 FPS. And the sound is horrible (sorry to say that!)
I tried every settings but no change at all. And on Naruto Kizuna Drive I get Full FPS 55-60FPS... :/

I am just wondering because some guys get 50-60 FPS with a Galaxy S3 and I get almost with the same Specs only ~37 FPS

Maybe you can help me?


Here are some pics.
http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/7650/screenshot2013033017212.png

http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/668/screenshot2013033017081.png
http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/668/screenshot2013033017081.png
http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/9256/screenshot2013033017074.png


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Carter07 - 03-30-2013 03:32 PM

If you enable buffered rendering (1x) fps gets better?
and enabling buffered rendering 1x vs 2x makes a difference?


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Edinoo - 03-30-2013 03:43 PM

Unfortunately not :/, No Difference


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Carter07 - 03-30-2013 03:46 PM

(03-30-2013 03:43 PM)Edinoo Wrote:  Unfortunately not :/, No Difference

no difference on the first AND the second question? Smile
if so the problem is not the gpu.


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Edinoo - 03-30-2013 03:50 PM

(03-30-2013 03:46 PM)Carter07 Wrote:  
(03-30-2013 03:43 PM)Edinoo Wrote:  Unfortunately not :/, No Difference

no difference on the first AND the second question? Smile
if so the problem is not the gpu.

Yes my answer is related to both questions haha sry.Big Grin

So you think the Processor is bad?


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Carter07 - 03-30-2013 04:00 PM

(03-30-2013 03:50 PM)Edinoo Wrote:  
(03-30-2013 03:46 PM)Carter07 Wrote:  
(03-30-2013 03:43 PM)Edinoo Wrote:  Unfortunately not :/, No Difference

no difference on the first AND the second question? Smile
if so the problem is not the gpu.

Yes my answer is related to both questions haha sry.Big Grin

So you think the Processor is bad?

Mmm no, I think that cpu is lowering its frequency due to heat (thermal throttling), all s4 pro devices (like nexus 4) seems to suffer of this problem.

Does the phone become hot when playing?


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Edinoo - 03-30-2013 04:07 PM

(03-30-2013 04:00 PM)Carter07 Wrote:  
(03-30-2013 03:50 PM)Edinoo Wrote:  
(03-30-2013 03:46 PM)Carter07 Wrote:  
(03-30-2013 03:43 PM)Edinoo Wrote:  Unfortunately not :/, No Difference

no difference on the first AND the second question? Smile
if so the problem is not the gpu.

Yes my answer is related to both questions haha sry.Big Grin

So you think the Processor is bad?

Mmm no, I think that cpu is lowering its frequency due to heat (thermal throttling), all s4 pro devices (like nexus 4) seems to suffer of this problem.

Does the phone become hot when playing?


hmm not really, just a bit. But I think it's normal.
Is there any solution on that s4 cpu problem Confused?


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Carter07 - 03-30-2013 04:35 PM

Just to be sure that cpu is working at max frequency try installing "Cool Tool" from the market, it will show an osd that tells you the current cpu freq.

Then try playing with ppsspp and see if it's always at 1,5ghz, see also if cpu is at 100% usage.


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Edinoo - 03-30-2013 04:49 PM

(03-30-2013 04:35 PM)Carter07 Wrote:  Just to be sure that cpu is working at max frequency try installing "Cool Tool" from the market, it will show an osd that tells you the current cpu freq.

Then try playing with ppsspp and see if it's always at 1,5ghz, see also if cpu is at 100% usage.

Thanks so far!

Yeah here I made a pic:
http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/1951/screenshot2013033018454.png

It goes up from 1.3 GHz to 1.5 GHz... But why only 30% CPU Usage?


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Carter07 - 03-30-2013 05:07 PM

(03-30-2013 04:49 PM)Edinoo Wrote:  
(03-30-2013 04:35 PM)Carter07 Wrote:  Just to be sure that cpu is working at max frequency try installing "Cool Tool" from the market, it will show an osd that tells you the current cpu freq.

Then try playing with ppsspp and see if it's always at 1,5ghz, see also if cpu is at 100% usage.

Thanks so far!

Yeah here I made a pic:
http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/1951/screenshot2013033018454.png

It goes up from 1.3 GHz to 1.5 GHz... But why only 30% CPU Usage?

It's normal that the cpu usage is at about 30% because it means you have 1 core (of 4) at full usage.

With my cortex A9 at 1,3ghz I get about the same speed (37-43fps), locking your cpu to 1,5ghz requires root and a custom kernel but the speedup will not be huge (maybe 3-4fps more).

Maybe it runs (a little) better on gs3 because the samsung's rom is more optimized, or the workload of ppsspp is more friendly to gs3 cpu's.
However it will run better when jit will be further optimized. Smile


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Edinoo - 03-30-2013 05:24 PM

(03-30-2013 05:07 PM)Carter07 Wrote:  
(03-30-2013 04:49 PM)Edinoo Wrote:  
(03-30-2013 04:35 PM)Carter07 Wrote:  Just to be sure that cpu is working at max frequency try installing "Cool Tool" from the market, it will show an osd that tells you the current cpu freq.

Then try playing with ppsspp and see if it's always at 1,5ghz, see also if cpu is at 100% usage.

Thanks so far!

Yeah here I made a pic:
http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/1951/screenshot2013033018454.png

It goes up from 1.3 GHz to 1.5 GHz... But why only 30% CPU Usage?

It's normal that the cpu usage is at about 30% because it means you have 1 core (of 4) at full usage.

With my cortex A9 at 1,3ghz I get about the same speed (37-43fps), locking your cpu to 1,5ghz requires root and a custom kernel but the speedup will not be huge (maybe 3-4fps more).

Maybe it runs (a little) better on gs3 because the samsung's rom is more optimized, or the workload of ppsspp is more friendly to gs3 cpu's.
However it will run better when jit will be further optimized. Smile

hmm thanks! So ppsspp uses only 1 core? Is it possible to make it work with 2 cores(multitask)? (Sorry I don't know much about that stuff)

I guess you are right ppsspp works better with a galaxy s3... or maybe it's just DBZ shin budokai that works better with s3? Because naruto kizuna drive works perfect.... I hope some developer read this and could look deeper into DBZ shin budokai and if my help (xperia Z) is needed just call me Big Grin

Anyway thank you for your help Smile


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Carter07 - 03-30-2013 05:33 PM

It will surely get multicore support in the future but now the focus is to make the jit even better. Wink


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - jacky400 - 03-30-2013 05:37 PM

I'm using sony xperia Z as well .When its running temperature is too high and reach a threhsold , it will downclock and slowdown the emulator .....

[raven02]


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - JumperTwo - 03-31-2013 08:55 AM

(03-30-2013 05:37 PM)jacky400 Wrote:  I'm using sony xperia Z as well .When its running temperature is too high and reach a threhsold , it will downclock and slowdown the emulator .....

[raven02]

i've seen myself, a stock galaxy s2 (on jelly bean) running this game at solid 55-60 fps. on my HTC one SV (Krait 1.2 ghz) i reach 37-42 (your 300 mhz more makes no difference?). is the Krait THAT weak? hm..i don't think so,something is off


RE: Dragonball Z Shin Budokai on Sony Xperia Z - Carter07 - 03-31-2013 09:37 AM

I have a dual core cortex A9 like galaxy s2 and I overclocked it at 1,3ghz (vs 1,2ghz in gs2), I don't think I'm gpu-limited in this game.

I get 39-47fps so I think it's due to samsung software being more optimized.