forums.PPSSPP.org
Unchained Blades - Printable Version

+- forums.PPSSPP.org (https://forums.ppsspp.org)
+-- Forum: PPSSPP - Playstation Portable Simulator Suitable for Playing Portably (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Commercial Games - Compatibility and Results (/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+---- Forum: Playable Games (/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+---- Thread: Unchained Blades (/showthread.php?tid=1866)

Pages: 1 2 3


Unchained Blades - rhawk - 03-21-2013 09:51 PM

[attachment=2532]
Title: Unchained Blades
Genre: Dungeon Crawler RPG
Region: United States
Format: ISO
Game ID: NPUH10123

OS Version: Windows
Emulator Version: 0.9.5
Compatibility: Playable

Notes

"Unchained Blades" is fully playable and has the full 60 FPS, has SFX voice, music and video. The save also works fine, and imported saves from jpcsp work fine as well. There is no current issues with the emulation.

PC Specs: Windows 7 Home x64, Intel i7-3770K, GeForce GTX 660 Ti, 16 GB RAM
(Note: Nothing is overclocked.)

[attachment=2501][attachment=2502][attachment=2503][attachment=2504][attachment=2505]

(Screenshots are outdated)

EDIT1: Will update post later since it was moved to its own topic.
EDIT2: Update complete. Wink
EDIT3: Update for 0.9.5


RE: Unchained Blades - livisor - 03-22-2013 08:38 AM

So this topic is the real unchained blade right?


RE: Unchained Blades - rhawk - 03-22-2013 09:15 AM

(notices his post was moved and made into a topic)

Ah, yes, it is now. ^^; I'll update it to the proper format when I can since it was moved to its own topic.


RE: Unchained Blades [WINDOWS] [v0.7-184-gf355137] [Playable] - livisor - 03-22-2013 05:54 PM

Ok,thanksSmile


RE: Unchained Blades - unknown - 04-27-2013 12:59 PM

I have test in latest build but there are missing text dialog
can someone fix it?? please


RE: Unchained Blades - hotsuma - 06-08-2013 07:52 AM

"Unchained Blades Rexx" and "Unchained Blades Exxiv" japanese ver. are fully playable in my Nexus 7 with SFX voice, video, effect and 60FPS. That's great. I love these games. Thanks a lot!


RE: Unchained Blades - Blake81 - 07-19-2013 05:46 AM

I started playing this game in USA version at 0.8.1 and it works 300% PERFECT; seriosly not a single issue, not even the most minor one. Just as good as in the console.

I'm using Windows XP and my game's in ISO format.

Only config note I must add is that you must have ``Force Nearest Filtering´´ active, or else the characters' faces will have rectangles on them.


RE: Unchained Blades - JtrLo - 08-06-2013 01:00 PM

I have played this until chapter 5 and everything is fine
But here lies the problem

The screen won't change in that village one
Here some SS for that problem

[attachment=6822] [attachment=6823]


Btw i played this on my pc windows XP


RE: Unchained Blades - hotsuma - 08-06-2013 05:58 PM

What version of ppsspp are you using? Did you try the latest build?


RE: Unchained Blades - JtrLo - 08-06-2013 06:11 PM

Already solved it
it looks like the problem with save state . . .

I tried to save from ingame save and exit
then load from main title menu
and it work . . .
silly me . . .

Thx anyway

(Gonna enjoy the rest of the game guhehehe)


RE: Unchained Blades - rhawk - 12-10-2013 06:18 PM

So everything works perfectly now? Great! I will update the first post.


RE: Unchained Blades - Kolrath - 10-29-2014 07:27 AM

I've been goofing off a good bit lately with the graphics settings available in PPSSPP, mainly trying to see what all options would aid in counteracting the sprite glitches that get caused by upscaling / filtering the games sprites.

I was testing some things with Unchained Blades since its "face box" situation is very easily noticeable and occurs almost immediately upon starting a new game. I found a way to minimize the amount of glitching on the animated portions of character dialogue sprites that results in a less pixelated image than you'd get by just forcing the filtering to nearest.

Works well in fullscreen at high resolutions. Not perfect but a suitable alternative to just dealing with the boxes or having highly pixelated sprites.

*Under the "Settings" > "Graphics"
* Set "Screen Scaling Filter" to "Nearest"
* Set "Texture Scaling" to "Auto, Hybrid"

Comparison Screenshots
Default Settings : Sceen Scaling
[attachment=12957] : [attachment=12959]

Default Settings : Sceen Scaling
[attachment=12958] : [attachment=12960]

*Note: This will NOT work with the latest stable release of PPSSPP as the "Screen Scaling Filter" option being used isn't in that build. Instead, grab one of the builds from the buildbot as those will have the option.
Addiotionally, I only tested this early portion of the game. I haven't played the game beyond that second example shot using these settings so I can't promise that it "fixes" all the glitches or that it doesn't make some other things worse.


Edit - UPDATE 11/13/2014 : I finished running through a full playthrough of the game using the above mentioned settings and figured I'd give a quick update on what I found.

The above settings do eliminate a vast majority of the "face boxing" on just about every character. The Medusa-girl though was still quite noticeable and in one or two poses the Mandrake-girl still had very visible glitching going on, but the rest of the characters and NPCS were hardly noticeable. I didn't notice any issues with any of the enemy monter sprites or anything else being made worse by these changes. I played through the full normal game and a few floors of the extra Inifinite Ark accessible after clearing the game so at least up until that point everything was great. If anyone out there is a masochist with all the time in the world on their hands they are more than welcome to see how those settings work through the entire Inifite Ark (and all 50 runs of its 101 floors...) for themselves.

I also wanted to point out two bugs that I encountered in the game, one of which can crash the emulator and the other is just game ending.

The first is from using the Square-Button "Repeat" command when in battle. Normally it will simply make your people perform the actions they had performed last round in the current or last battle. However, if you did something that can't actually be repeated because its no long a valid option, such as having unchained a creature last round and there aren't any to unchain this round or simply not having the mana to recast the same spell you used last round, then the game can crash.

What happens when you try to repeat under these conditions is it will inform you that you "can't perform that action" but move on to selecting actions for the second party member. If you somehow blunder through and try to Repeat for each of your four party members despite the warning... the game may crash, especially if you had turbo / unthrottle engaged when you pressed repeat. So long as you are mindful of what you're doing this possible bug / crash is incredibly easy to avoid.

The second bug I encountered involves the spike floor traps that relocate you to an adjacent tile when you step on them. Normally when you step on one and it relocates you there is a brief period where and control input is ignored. In rare instances when you trigger one of these traps the game never gives you back control after being shifted to another tile. Everything else is working fine but the game simply ignores all further control input. Much like the above issue turbo / unthrottle seems to vastly increase your chances of it occuring! Avoid using turbo when around such traps or you may find yourself having to just quit out and risk losing progress. So far as I'm aware you can't simply use a savestate to prevent yourself from losing progress if this bug occurs as when I tried it out the savestate also saved the fact that the game was ignoring all my control inputs.

Aside from those two issues, which aren't related to the graphics settings at all, the game worked great. Good luck and have fun to anyone playing this out there.


RE: Unchained Blades - kebeninthewoods - 11-03-2014 05:53 AM

Greetings!

I've recently started playing this game on my Zenfone and it was working fine until I had to through this one hall and it suddenly crashes.

Can you please help me with this?


RE: Unchained Blades - Kolrath - 11-03-2014 06:29 AM

(11-03-2014 05:53 AM)kebeninthewoods Wrote:  Greetings!

I've recently started playing this game on my Zenfone and it was working fine until I had to through this one hall and it suddenly crashes.

Can you please help me with this?

Judging by your picture thats in the "Temple of Trials" at the very start of the game. I assume you're at the part where you just got told to escort Glakul to the Town?

I've run through that section countless times when I was testing out various things and I never had it crash. Then again I was also playing on PC and not a Zenfone.

Out of curiousity...
  • What version of PPSSPP are you using?
  • Have you had any other crashes in that game or another game?
  • Is the crash repeatable? As in, does it always happen when you go through there and can you make it happen as often as you want or does it happen randomly?
  • One last thing I can think of... are you using the games actual save feature or are you using Save States?



RE: Unchained Blades - kebeninthewoods - 11-03-2014 08:36 PM

(11-03-2014 06:29 AM)Kolrath Wrote:  
(11-03-2014 05:53 AM)kebeninthewoods Wrote:  Greetings!

I've recently started playing this game on my Zenfone and it was working fine until I had to through this one hall and it suddenly crashes.

Can you please help me with this?

Judging by your picture thats in the "Temple of Trials" at the very start of the game. I assume you're at the part where you just got told to escort Glakul to the Town?

I've run through that section countless times when I was testing out various things and I never had it crash. Then again I was also playing on PC and not a Zenfone.

Out of curiousity...
  • What version of PPSSPP are you using?
  • Have you had any other crashes in that game or another game?
  • Is the crash repeatable? As in, does it always happen when you go through there and can you make it happen as often as you want or does it happen randomly?
  • One last thing I can think of... are you using the games actual save feature or are you using Save States?

Thanks for replying!

Yes, it is on the Temple of Trials.

● v0.9.9.1
● So far, it's the only crash I've had in the game. I have another game, Generation of Chaos, and no crashes on that one.
● It always happens on that section only.
● I'm using the actual save feature. I'm not really sure how to use the save state.