Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 3 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Ridge Racer 2
05-05-2013, 08:01 PM (This post was last modified: 05-05-2013 08:01 PM by vnctdj.)
Post: #46
RE: Ridge Racer 2
(05-05-2013 07:52 PM)sfageas Wrote:  It's a Pac-Car Big Grin

Hmm, OK, I didn't know that Pac-Man have a car like this ! Big Grin

♦ Intel Core i7-6700HQ | 16 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M | Debian Testing --- Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
♦ Intel Core i7-2630QM | 4 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M | Debian Testing
♦ PSP-3004 | 6.60 PRO-C2
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-05-2013, 08:04 PM
Post: #47
RE: Ridge Racer 2
(05-05-2013 07:56 PM)sfageas Wrote:  yes all with BR on the upper left corner texture problem is there but barely visible
I downloaded a save file from gamefaqs Smile

NICE. Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-05-2013, 08:07 PM
Post: #48
RE: Ridge Racer 2
get any save file from gamefaqs and try to do 360 or even 720 with it,it's hilarious at best
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-05-2013, 08:08 PM
Post: #49
RE: Ridge Racer 2
If you guys get some time, try playing the game all the way till the end. I would say about 80% of the game is relatively easy, up until you get to the Max tour. Then prepare to get your ass kicked! Big Grin The races become BRUTAL!!!! One tiny error and you'll be in last. AI cars have Nitrous boost almost the whole race LOL.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2013, 03:52 AM
Post: #50
RE: Ridge Racer 2
Also one more bug, dunno if anyone noticed but the coordination system in replays is messed up. The replay will def not be a replay of what you just did, infact, it's just a messed up thing, that you keep hitting randomly and weirdly walls and you actualy finish the race even first without (visually) doing even a whole lap. That's actualy hilarious.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2013, 02:02 AM (This post was last modified: 05-08-2013 10:56 PM by isamu.)
Post: #51
RE: Ridge Racer 2
Well guys, I'm happy to say I finally got around to setting up my steering wheel and pedals to work properly in PPSSPP, and let me tell you....IT MAKES PLAYING RIDGE RACERS 2 A BLAST!!!!!!!!!!!! Big GrinBig GrinBig Grin


[Image: its-happening-ron-paul-gif.gif]


Man, I must have played the game for 4 hours straight last night!!! Holy crap the game is SOOO much fun with a steering wheel, pedals and especially a shifter!! This is the way I have ALWAYS wanted to play this Ridge Racer game! It feels like playing in the arcade! Also Ridge Racers 2 looks AMAZING on PC when using 4x resolution rendering and 4x texture rendering!!! Does anyone know what the original resolution of the textures are in the game? Let's hope they can put in even higher internal res options(10x res?) Big Grin

Unfortunately the see cars, palm trees, lights, etc through walls, road and mountains glitch is simply too distracting on a few courses. I'll do my best to ignore it but man, looks like uncanny valley for sure LOL. Plus not having the rear view mirror is going to make playing the game quite difficult when I get to the later faster tours.

Still, all those issues aside, it's wonderful to be able to play this arcade classic game on the big screen with a wheel and pedals. It took a while for me to get the sensitivity in my wheel just right using ppjoy, but after a few calibration attempts, I got it just perfect! The steering on the wheel surprisingly feels very natural, or as natural as can be, given the relatively short analog range of the original PSP analog knob.

My hats off to Henrik and the other devs for the great job they've done so far. Once the see through road, mountains, etc glitch is resolved as well as the rear view mirror working, this will be the game I will end up playing the MOST on my PC!! I'm just that big of a Ridge Racer cum dumpster.

Isn't it a shame how the devs of PCSX2 have had their emulator out for over 4 years, and STILL can't emulate Ridge Racer V for PS2 properly(ie horrible frame rates at certain parts of the track, terrible car graphic glitches in hardware mode, bad de-interlacing problems, etc), yet the coders of ppsspp have only had their emu out for a few months and they have ALREADY got Ridge Racers 2 working beautifully at a rock solid 60fps! Crazy! Cool
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2013, 03:40 AM (This post was last modified: 05-07-2013 03:40 AM by solarmystic.)
Post: #52
RE: Ridge Racer 2
Yep, the game runs beautifully even on my ancient PC (latest git revision). Perks of aiming for mobile devices I guess, all of a sudden my decrepit laptop feels like a king again amongst the Iphones and the Samsung Galaxy devices lol.

PPSSPP Modern Testbed:-
Intel Core i5 4690K @ 4.0 GHz
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 760 2GB GDDR5 VRAM @ 1138/6500 Mhz
16 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1600 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1

PPSSPP Ancient Testing Rig:-
Intel Core 2 Duo T9550 @ 2.8GHz
ATI Mobility Radeon 4670 1GB GDDR3 VRAM @ 843/882 MHz
8 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1066 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2013, 07:07 AM
Post: #53
RE: Ridge Racer 2
isamu im coming at your home for a test,take your wheel & run Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2013, 09:17 AM (This post was last modified: 05-07-2013 09:44 AM by Donel.)
Post: #54
RE: Ridge Racer 2
(05-07-2013 02:02 AM)isamu Wrote:  Unfortunately the see cars, palm trees, lights, etc through walls, road and mountains glitch is simply too distracting on a few courses. I'll do my best to ignore it but man, looks like uncanny valley for sure LOL.

This bug was fixed once, but they reverted the fix as it broke the shadows in a Final Fantasy game. That was a long time ago, I think it was still in version 0.5.

This bug is really annoying, it also happens in Moto GP.

I'm trying to find the pull request that resulted in this bug, I remember it being made by raven02, but it's really hard to find.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2013, 09:55 AM
Post: #55
RE: Ridge Racer 2
(05-07-2013 02:02 AM)isamu Wrote:  Well guys, I'm happy to say I finally got around to setting up my steering wheel and pedals to work properly in PPSSPP
We demand a video! Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2013, 10:09 AM (This post was last modified: 05-07-2013 10:12 AM by isamu.)
Post: #56
RE: Ridge Racer 2
(05-07-2013 09:55 AM)xsacha Wrote:  
(05-07-2013 02:02 AM)isamu Wrote:  Well guys, I'm happy to say I finally got around to setting up my steering wheel and pedals to work properly in PPSSPP
We demand a video! Big Grin

If I had a digicam I'd do it! Send me yours Big Grin

(05-07-2013 09:17 AM)Donel Wrote:  
(05-07-2013 02:02 AM)isamu Wrote:  Unfortunately the see cars, palm trees, lights, etc through walls, road and mountains glitch is simply too distracting on a few courses. I'll do my best to ignore it but man, looks like uncanny valley for sure LOL.

This bug was fixed once, but they reverted the fix as it broke the shadows in a Final Fantasy game. That was a long time ago, I think it was still in version 0.5.

This bug is really annoying, it also happens in Moto GP.

I'm trying to find the pull request that resulted in this bug, I remember it being made by raven02, but it's really hard to find.


Wow that is very interesting news Donel. Interesting how this bug was once fixed then reverted. If you can find that pull request that resulted in the bug and can proceed to submit it to the coders so they can fix it, that will be PHENOMENAL!!!! Big Grin

Out of curiosity Donel, when you say fixed, just how fixed was it? Was it fixed to the point where you couldn't see any of the objects through anything including the road, walls, and mountains? Or was it just kinda fixed, where you could still see a few things but it was minimal?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2013, 12:21 PM
Post: #57
RE: Ridge Racer 2
I'd rather be a sorta perfectionist (?) and wait until the taillights & rear view mirror fixed instead.

Speaking of, looks like the headlights are affected too.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2013, 05:19 PM
Post: #58
RE: Ridge Racer 2
Just yesterday i tryed my Logitech Driving Force GT with the two Wipeouts and Ridge Racer, and yes is a really great thing Smile, the console emulation on pc is pure magic, i remember my amazement when i played the first time Zelda Ocarina Of Time on PC with the psx joypad.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-07-2013, 11:24 PM (This post was last modified: 05-07-2013 11:25 PM by Donel.)
Post: #59
RE: Ridge Racer 2
(05-07-2013 10:09 AM)isamu Wrote:  Wow that is very interesting news Donel. Interesting how this bug was once fixed then reverted. If you can find that pull request that resulted in the bug and can proceed to submit it to the coders so they can fix it, that will be PHENOMENAL!!!! Big Grin

Out of curiosity Donel, when you say fixed, just how fixed was it? Was it fixed to the point where you couldn't see any of the objects through anything including the road, walls, and mountains? Or was it just kinda fixed, where you could still see a few things but it was minimal?

It was really fixed, nothing could be seen through objetcs, not even the lights.

I wasn't able to find the pull request =/. I will try again now and post here if I succeed.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-08-2013, 12:25 AM
Post: #60
RE: Ridge Racer 2
(05-07-2013 11:24 PM)Donel Wrote:  
(05-07-2013 10:09 AM)isamu Wrote:  Wow that is very interesting news Donel. Interesting how this bug was once fixed then reverted. If you can find that pull request that resulted in the bug and can proceed to submit it to the coders so they can fix it, that will be PHENOMENAL!!!! Big Grin

Out of curiosity Donel, when you say fixed, just how fixed was it? Was it fixed to the point where you couldn't see any of the objects through anything including the road, walls, and mountains? Or was it just kinda fixed, where you could still see a few things but it was minimal?

It was really fixed, nothing could be seen through objetcs, not even the lights.

I wasn't able to find the pull request =/. I will try again now and post here if I succeed.


Yes please do! We're rootin' for ya brother!!! Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: