Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
30 fps cap
12-06-2017, 03:22 AM
Post: #1
30 fps cap
Hello everyone. First of all I want to say thank you Henrik for creating this wonderful application! I am trying to figure out if I can cap all games to 30 fps. I tried editing the ini but the changes do not stick when i launch ppsspp. Any tips? Thank you in advance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-06-2017, 03:35 AM
Post: #2
RE: 30 fps cap
But most PSP games ARE capped at 30 FPS? What are you trying to play?

Everything is Hitsuzen!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-06-2017, 03:38 AM
Post: #3
RE: 30 fps cap
Midnight club. Its usually 60 fps in the city but when i race the frames drop and i get laggy audio. Im using the android version if it makes a difference.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-06-2017, 05:37 AM (This post was last modified: 12-06-2017 05:40 AM by Asferot.)
Post: #4
RE: 30 fps cap
Oh...
That means your device is not powerful enough. It has nothing to do with games framerates.

You could look into finding some tweaks to make it run at 60 all the time, if possible.
How low do the framerates dip?

Everything is Hitsuzen!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-06-2017, 11:38 AM
Post: #5
RE: 30 fps cap
MC3 is capped to 30 FPS if you change the internal CPU Clock in System settings to arround 200.

Phone: Galaxy J7 J700M @1.7GHz OC

PC: Intel Core i5 3470 3.2GHz/10GB DDR3 1333MHz/NVIDIA GTX 660 2GB GDDR5 192-bit/Windows 10 Pro x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-06-2017, 12:16 PM (This post was last modified: 12-06-2017 12:26 PM by Stealth25k.)
Post: #6
RE: 30 fps cap
Hello i will try thank you. The frames stay consistent at 30 fps when i race although for some races they go from 50 to 30ish. After the vulcan update my frames do not drop below 30 for any games lol
Update: still 60 fps in the city and 30ish during races. No way to cap fps to always be at 30?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-06-2017, 12:45 PM
Post: #7
RE: 30 fps cap
You must low the clock until you get stable (or almost) 30 FPS. Remember that lowering too much can cap the FPS to 20 sometimes.

Phone: Galaxy J7 J700M @1.7GHz OC

PC: Intel Core i5 3470 3.2GHz/10GB DDR3 1333MHz/NVIDIA GTX 660 2GB GDDR5 192-bit/Windows 10 Pro x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-07-2017, 06:06 AM
Post: #8
RE: 30 fps cap
Lowering the clock will also mess up things potentially causing anything from glitches to crashes and is not recommended.

The only quick and completely safe solution is to use frameskipping. If you set it to 1 and activate auto frameskipping, it will only skip when required.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-07-2017, 10:03 AM
Post: #9
RE: 30 fps cap
Thank you for the advice everyone. In the ini there's a "max fps" option. There must be a way to change it to 30 amd have the changes stick?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-07-2017, 11:51 AM
Post: #10
RE: 30 fps cap
Lock max FPS to 30 there will make your game run with half speed, not only 30 FPS but in slow motion too. I'm aware of the risks of changing CPU clock, I rather this than frameskipping.

Phone: Galaxy J7 J700M @1.7GHz OC

PC: Intel Core i5 3470 3.2GHz/10GB DDR3 1333MHz/NVIDIA GTX 660 2GB GDDR5 192-bit/Windows 10 Pro x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: