Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Texture Replacement
06-22-2016, 09:59 PM
Post: #61
RE: Texture Replacement
Maybe it was just that your ini file didn't had hash under options or you made a typo there as that's required to be correct if the optional ini exists(kind of needed to avoid problems between versions once we get more hashes).

I think that wasn't clear, didn't know myself until I checked it literaly yesterday, so I added some defaults to ini file created from ui(starting from v1.2.2-693-g12be183). If created successfully by UI(case it was existing already it only get's opened) ~ textures.ini will now have the required options plus brief info within.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-11-2016, 04:38 PM
Post: #62
RE: Texture Replacement
Apologies for waking up this old thread.

I'm currently attempting to replace all of the text textures in MHFU with higher resolution files and am having trouble using the Wildcard / Hash stuff.
I'm not a code person at all, so I'm probably missing something really simple.

The texture I wish to replace has been saved out by PPSSPP multiple times:

040cc000ecbb8936ac49409c
040cc000ecbb8936c85eedb3
040cc000ecbb8936c6785182

... and so on.

So I assumed that I would have to replace the last 8 characters with "0"s in the textures.ini file.

e.g.
040cc000ecbb893600000000 = HD_Text.png

Is that correct? Or am I missing something.

When I playtest the game with those modifications to the textures.ini, all text in the game is invisible.

Any help would be much appreciated, I am keen to be able to overhaul this game to full HD.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-11-2016, 08:46 PM
Post: #63
RE: Texture Replacement
When the textures are missing in game, it means replacement worked, there's probably something wrong with your png.

It could happen for example if you set alpha lower what the game wants to show or just replaced it with different image that doesn't have anything where the sprites on the texture were. If you processed the original font with some software it could be something stupid that some apps might be doing by default like setting transparency to whatever edge pixel has which could happen to be the color of the font.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 07:47 AM
Post: #64
RE: Texture Replacement
Hmm, I couldn't find any problems with my png.

I just tried replacing the text texture with its self (copy the dumped texture, and put in the replacement textures folder), and it is still coming up with invisible text in-game.

Do you think this could be a problem caused by the way the text is coded in MHFU?
E.g. if the game needs to display a "P", it displays the area that is 16px down and 32px across, rather than doing it by the % of the texture size.

That would be odd, since all of the other textures I have modified to higher resolutions have worked fine, but I could understand text being handled differently.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 08:57 AM
Post: #65
RE: Texture Replacement
Nah, all games go by exact location, ppsspp simply translates UV for scaled images, if replacements wouldn't work by having bigger size, real time texture scaling like xBRZ would be broken same way.

From what I checked MH games(through only checked japanese ones) seems to be using multiply textures for fonts. They don't have any trash data that change texture hash, they simply are different, so you will have to map each and every one of them separately without using texture hash wildcard.


Not such a big deal as it shouldn't have many of those, certainly not as hardcore as what I found in this game:
   
where every single letter that get's printed on the screen when dialogue shows up generates new texture with that dialogue, it never uses any font texture in a way that could be scaled before it shows up in dialogues. Had to blacklist all of the dialogues and forget about idea of scaling it in any non real-time way.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 09:40 AM
Post: #66
RE: Texture Replacement
Still no luck unfortunately. I tried mapping each of the hashes individually, and the text still doesn't appear in-game.

This is annoying, I have the exact font used in-game and it would make such a huge difference if I can get it to work.

If anybody has any more ideas I'd be very grateful for the help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 10:57 AM
Post: #67
RE: Texture Replacement
Found my english version of MHFU this time ~ it doesn't really have multiply fonts like japanese ones unless it has them only for other languages, but anyway replacements worked fine ~ here's with some nasty color at few times larger res just to show a change:
   
There's certainly nothing special with this game's font.

So again your png must be bad, how exactly did you made it? Or you just got it from newer MH/different game? As in that case it's most likely differently mapped even if it looks alike, if it's shifted in any direction it would just point to empty spaces hence nothing would show in place of font.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 12:11 PM (This post was last modified: 07-12-2016 12:11 PM by derefonzie.)
Post: #68
RE: Texture Replacement
Maybe I just need to delete everything and start again then.

The texture dumped by PPSSPP:
   

My replacement:
   

I created the high res texture by enlarging the original in photoshop and manually overlaying replacement characters in the exact positions, so I doubt it is poorly aligned textures that are causing the problem.

The weird thing is that if I try to replace the texture (even if is with the exact texture that was ripped), the text still disappears.

You've been very patient with me already, thanks for that.
Could I ask you to try using my texture above in your version and see if it works?

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 12:47 PM
Post: #69
RE: Texture Replacement
Well the font you say is the original from the game already is totally different for me:
   

I only ran the game for a few minutes and that was the only font texture I got and if that one works for you, I would guess you played longer - dumped textures for some rarer text as well which you based your work on without noticing that they aren't the same hence all the confusion.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 01:11 PM
Post: #70
RE: Texture Replacement
How odd.

None of my dumped textures look like the one you just shared. Maybe it depends on region, I think my ROM is a US version.

I'll experiment further and see if I can find a solution.

Cheers.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 01:21 PM
Post: #71
RE: Texture Replacement
It's weird that the same PNG it dumped would not work. If you show the Log Console (under the Debug menu), does it say anything? It should log if it fails to load a PNG for some reason.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 01:31 PM
Post: #72
RE: Texture Replacement
Yeah mine's EU so it's possible it's a region difference.:|
One other thing to check ~ maybe you have something else in your textures ini that uses same address/clut and due to wildcards also replaces font? Things higher on the list takes priority, so you can just move your font replacements on the top of your [hashes] list to quickly check that.

http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=6594 - Custom PPSSPP Shaders!
http://forums.ppsspp.org/showthread.php?tid=3590&pid=117172#pid117172 - simple CE scripts to help creating CWCheats,
https://github.com/LunaMoo/PPSSPP_workarounds - CWCheat workarounds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 02:01 PM
Post: #73
RE: Texture Replacement
(07-12-2016 01:21 PM)[Unknown] Wrote:  If you show the Log Console (under the Debug menu), does it say anything? It should log if it fails to load a PNG for some reason.

-[Unknown]

   

It looks like it tries and fails to load the png whenever it is replacing the text texture.
Not sure why it rejects the pngs in this situation, I have tried it with other pngs (ones that do work in game like the inventory textures) and it rejects those too.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 10:19 PM
Post: #74
RE: Texture Replacement
I'm not an image format know-how, but the error leads me to believethere is something wrong with the replacement textures, try opening and saving it with another image editor.

And if anyone gets to it, maps have to added to the hashrange list with a width and height of 160x160.

I already had the forest and hills and almost all of the snowy mountains replaced with MH1/2 textures, but my laptop's hard drive seems to have died, still waiting on a response from the technician.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2016, 11:28 PM
Post: #75
RE: Texture Replacement
If the PNG is definitely valid, hmm, it may mean that the requested row width is incompatible somehow.

Just to confirm, if you create a 1x1 PNG that is solid red, and name it Text.png, does it show red instead of text? Or still give this exact same error?

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: