Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Texture Replacement
10-11-2016, 03:18 PM
Post: #91
RE: Texture Replacement
You don't have to edit all of them, unless the actual hash changes (the last 8 characters of the filename), unless by duplicate you mean textures whose filenames end in _1/_2/etc...

Those are mipmaps, you either provide them or disable MipMapping in the emulator's configuration.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-11-2016, 05:15 PM
Post: #92
RE: Texture Replacement
No no, I give an example

This one grass texture, dumped 8 times but it have the same last 8 hash

Old laptop: Lenovo G458
AMD/ATI Radeon HD 7310 | [email protected] | APU E1-1200 Dual Core | 2.5 GB DDR3 400MHz | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

New laptop: Lenovo ideapad 100
Nvidia Geforce 920M 2GB / Intel HD Graphics 5500 | [email protected] | Intel Core i3-5005U 2GB | 2GB DDR3 2000MHz | Window 10 Home 64-bit
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2016, 01:22 AM
Post: #93
RE: Texture Replacement
You don't have to replace each one, just make an .ini file and replace the first 16 numbers/letters from its full filename.

Code:
The original, just writing this in the ini will stop working once the texture gets loaded in a different place or mission:
08ec72c0ace5ff4d4b01292e = Goku1.png
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

The following line will replace every instance of the texture with "Goku1.png" based on the hash alone:
00000000000000004b01292e = Goku1.png

Once you put this line under [hashes], the game will stop dumping the texture and replace every instance of 4b01292 with the file Goku1.png regardless of position in memory and palette.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2016, 01:42 AM (This post was last modified: 10-12-2016 01:42 AM by Accel.)
Post: #94
RE: Texture Replacement
Omg, I know about that!

The one Im talking about is when dumping textures, there are duplicates
Thats really annoying when trying to sharpen them and after 30 textures later, I might forgot this certain texture I already edited reappeared
   

Old laptop: Lenovo G458
AMD/ATI Radeon HD 7310 | [email protected] | APU E1-1200 Dual Core | 2.5 GB DDR3 400MHz | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

New laptop: Lenovo ideapad 100
Nvidia Geforce 920M 2GB / Intel HD Graphics 5500 | [email protected] | Intel Core i3-5005U 2GB | 2GB DDR3 2000MHz | Window 10 Home 64-bit
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2016, 10:16 AM
Post: #95
RE: Texture Replacement
(10-12-2016 01:42 AM)Accel Wrote:  The one Im talking about is when dumping textures, there are duplicates
Thats really annoying when trying to sharpen them and after 30 textures later, I might forgot this certain texture I already edited reappeared
Once you have made the proper hash in texture.ini, flush your texture dump folder and start again. All duplicate textures as described by the hash will be ignored, just make sure you made the proper hash.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2016, 11:39 AM
Post: #96
RE: Texture Replacement
(10-12-2016 10:16 AM)DinJerr Wrote:  
(10-12-2016 01:42 AM)Accel Wrote:  The one Im talking about is when dumping textures, there are duplicates
Thats really annoying when trying to sharpen them and after 30 textures later, I might forgot this certain texture I already edited reappeared
Once you have made the proper hash in texture.ini, flush your texture dump folder and start again. All duplicate textures as described by the hash will be ignored, just make sure you made the proper hash.

...........
I give up
Gonna cry in the corner

Old laptop: Lenovo G458
AMD/ATI Radeon HD 7310 | [email protected] | APU E1-1200 Dual Core | 2.5 GB DDR3 400MHz | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

New laptop: Lenovo ideapad 100
Nvidia Geforce 920M 2GB / Intel HD Graphics 5500 | [email protected] | Intel Core i3-5005U 2GB | 2GB DDR3 2000MHz | Window 10 Home 64-bit
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2016, 04:48 PM
Post: #97
RE: Texture Replacement
I'd recommend you read what we write instead but, whatever floats your boat :V
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2016, 04:58 PM (This post was last modified: 10-12-2016 04:59 PM by Accel.)
Post: #98
RE: Texture Replacement
......
To do the process both of you talking also require to go through 90 textures
   
Why you guys dont understand?


Dump textures > write 90 hashes and possible copies after 15 or so > redump the textures

Still dont understand? gently caress my life then <- goddamn this forum's nice words filters

Old laptop: Lenovo G458
AMD/ATI Radeon HD 7310 | [email protected] | APU E1-1200 Dual Core | 2.5 GB DDR3 400MHz | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

New laptop: Lenovo ideapad 100
Nvidia Geforce 920M 2GB / Intel HD Graphics 5500 | [email protected] | Intel Core i3-5005U 2GB | 2GB DDR3 2000MHz | Window 10 Home 64-bit
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2016, 03:08 AM
Post: #99
RE: Texture Replacement
(10-12-2016 04:58 PM)Accel Wrote:  ......
To do the process both of you talking also require to go through 90 textures

Why you guys dont understand?

Dump textures > write 90 hashes and possible copies after 15 or so > redump the textures

What YukiHerz is recommending is (but I'm going to add a WARNING to this at the end):

1. Dump your textures (let's say there's 90 different PNGs for one texture.)

2. Start replacing, and notice that some of the textures are duplicated, and all end the same way with the same 8 letters and numbers (even if you only notice 2 or 3 so far.)

3. STOP replacing textures. Don't do any more of them.

4. Put the textures you've replaced so far in the TEXTURES/GAMEID/ folder, and then delete the contents of the "new" folder.

5. Edit the ini file and add the lines he suggested for the duplicate texture you found.

6. Take the one image you found that was a duplicate, and put it in TEXTURES/GAMEID also per the filename from the ini.

6. Run through the game to dump textures again. Now it won't dump any of the textures, and it will only dump textures you haven't replaced yet.

7. If there are textures you don't want to replace ever, you can set them in the ini too, just leave it at = with no filename. It won't dump those either.

8. Now the new folder will have textures to replace again: without any duplicates, yay.

--

Now comes my WARNING:

You should understand that if you follow the above advice too liberally, you might end up accidentally replacing textures that should be different. So definitely only do it if you see duplicates.

The filename is a hash. Imagine this picture of a PSP:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/c...p-1000.jpg

Gets turned into this image:

http://forums.ppsspp.org/uploads/psp-q1.jpg

That's kinda like what a hash does. So when you skip more of the hash you end up with this:

http://forums.ppsspp.org/uploads/psp-q0.jpg

And the danger of accidentally replacing something that isn't actually a picture of a PSP increases.

These are just examples, both images are actually WAY MORE detailed than a hash is. But, hashes are still pretty accurate so don't become paranoid.

But if you used only the last 8 characters for EVERY texture, you'd probably hit like one collision somewhere in the game, and end up with someone having a face that resembles a building's door or something.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2016, 06:51 AM (This post was last modified: 10-13-2016 06:54 AM by Accel.)
Post: #100
RE: Texture Replacement
Accidentally replacing other textures via hashes?

A combination of "a-z" and "0-9" in 8 characters only will result 1220096908800 possible combinations, aka impossible for that to happen
A 1 byte picture of all combinations translate to 1.10967 terrabyte, aka another impossibility cus a single layer UMD can only fit 900 Megabyte and dual layer UMD can only fit 1.8 Gigabyte

Old laptop: Lenovo G458
AMD/ATI Radeon HD 7310 | [email protected] | APU E1-1200 Dual Core | 2.5 GB DDR3 400MHz | Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit

New laptop: Lenovo ideapad 100
Nvidia Geforce 920M 2GB / Intel HD Graphics 5500 | [email protected] | Intel Core i3-5005U 2GB | 2GB DDR3 2000MHz | Window 10 Home 64-bit
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2016, 01:19 PM
Post: #101
RE: Texture Replacement
Well, it's not a-z in the first place, and it's also not impossible. One of the reasons for this is something people refer to as the "birthday paradox". There's actually an open issue on GitHub about a game that is hitting a collision right now, and that's with the complete data.

Not sure how you think 1 byte can uniquely store 1 TB of data. If that was true, all zip files would be 1 byte, but also extract out to the exact contents they were originally compressed from. Downloads would be so awesomely fast.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2016, 05:55 PM (This post was last modified: 10-13-2016 05:57 PM by DinJerr.)
Post: #102
RE: Texture Replacement
OMG, do you really need to see every possible textures before you start replacing them? Just what is your workflow anyway that you end up having to ẃrite 90 hashes in one go?

My workflow that keeps me focused (prior to texture options in UI update)
1) savestate of scene with object to work on.
2) turn on dumping.
3) loadstate immediately (after reset, not sure in new version UI)
4) once textures dumped from scene, exit and look at 'new' folder. Edit the texture of choice and save outside of 'new' folder.
5) from the original texture names of edited textures, write the appropriate hash into textures.ini, especially those that have duplicates in the 'new' folder. Normally it's just changing the first 8 hex to 0.
6) now delete the entire content of the 'new' folder.
7) restart ppsspp (just to be säfe), turn on texture loading and loadstate (no need to turn off dumping, unlike Dolphin). Texture should be replaced with edits, and it and its duplicates will no longer appear in your 'new' dump folder as well.

Sanity saved, unless you prefer crying in your corner, then that's your prerogative.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2016, 07:51 AM
Post: #103
RE: Texture Replacement
I gotta recommend anyone doing texture replacement use some automated detection of duplicate images after a bit. Try using an application like VisiPics. It really makes life infinitely easier instead of trying to vet them yourself. Set it to strict and let it autotag exact visual duplicates and you can delete them in 10 seconds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2016, 10:28 PM
Post: #104
RE: Texture Replacement
Or, if you don't want to install anything extra, just sort the folder by Size, all duplicates will have the same file size.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2016, 11:04 AM (This post was last modified: 10-28-2016 11:06 AM by Bit Strange.)
Post: #105
RE: Texture Replacement
I've managed to replace some textures of a game called Platypus, but for some reason some of the bigger replacement textures revert back to the original ones at random times for no apparent reason, sometimes they even flicker between the two textures. Why?
I've messed around with the graphical settings for about an hour, but to little avail.
Most of the textures have the dimensions of 1024x512. That can't be it, can it?
There's one texture that's 1024x512 that doesn't flicker or completely revert TOO often, but then there's another texture of the same dimensions but is far less in size, yet for some reason it very, very, very rarely ever shows up.

Could someone please help me with this issue? I would appreciate it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: