Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
03-24-2016, 05:02 AM
Post: #16
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
Right, I haven't seen framebuffer fetch or anything there. And, I don't see any explicit mention of "inout" or anything in the spec to indicate if it's supported. But maybe in the future, indeed.

Interesting that R4G4B4A4_UNORM_PACK16 is non-optimal. We're using that currently, although a "A4R4G4B4" would be more ideal, if it existed...

http://vulkan.gpuinfo.org/displayreport.php?id=133

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2016, 05:09 AM
Post: #17
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
Nvidia's Shield TV Vulkan drivers seem pretty far ahead than the other devices.

http://vulkan.gpuinfo.org/displayreport.php?id=3
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2016, 01:27 PM
Post: #18
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
srdjan1995, thanks for letting me know! That's great news.

The issue was that we were using a depth buffer format that was not available on Radeon. Now it's automatically choosing the best available format, and apparently we were doing most other things right if it works now Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2016, 01:28 PM
Post: #19
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
[Unknown], not a big issue, we can change any 4444 format to any other by using swizzle in the ImageView objects. We should be able to get rid of all the color format conversions in TextureCacheVulkan.cpp, as well.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2016, 06:05 PM
Post: #20
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
I enabled it to see how it ran, it flips the entire GUI upside and backwards or mirror image..at first I didn't realize what the heck caused it, had to install and remove config files t get back to normal

Now I realize what setting I clicked on that caused it, switch back to opengl then hitting back, then closing and reopening fixed it

This was on arm64 device. The S6 exynos

PS I believe the 1.2.1 updates that fixed the app switching hangs, crashes is amazing, I all the sudden noticed how great ppsspp was running looked though the dev builds comments and quickly realized why had made it seem like a flawless app now...it drove me nuts cuz I often would hit my cells home button while playing.

Just wish the PSP had more great games lol, or that the Play! Dev guy gets some help on his Android ps2 emu, updates are brutally slow for that program
...haha hint hint any devs feel like working on more lmao
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2016, 08:04 PM
Post: #21
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
(03-24-2016 01:27 PM)Henrik Wrote:  srdjan1995, thanks for letting me know! That's great news.

The issue was that we were using a depth buffer format that was not available on Radeon. Now it's automatically choosing the best available format, and apparently we were doing most other things right if it works now Smile

You're welcome Henrik. Smile I'm glad it works on AMD, so I can test it now.

Anyway, most of the games I've tried are black screen only, or crashes with Vulkan enabled. I have many games, so I'll try testing them all, to see if some will run.

To watch my gameplays go to:
http://www.youtube.com/user/srdjan041
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkCA7Bx4k-7HkGC6U2ASSyQ
Buy PC games from Instant-Gaming at cheapest price on Internet trough my referral link:
[code]http://www.instant-gaming.com/igr/FS-FeNiX/[/code]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2016, 09:39 PM
Post: #22
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
srdjan, well, quite a few games should be playable as is, like Wipeout, Lumines, Loco Roco, Burnout and many others. But yes, many are missing effects and many are black screen due to the lack of buffered rendering. It's coming. but I'm just getting started on it.

Vulkan sort of forces you to design it in an efficient way that will work great on modern mobile tiling GPUs, but as they work in a very different way than the PSP did, it's not a great match and it will take quite a bit of work to get right. The performance will be worth it though once more mobile devices get Vulkan drivers...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2016, 10:59 PM
Post: #23
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
@Henrik, yeah, I tought crashes and black screen issues are due to non-buffered rendering. So far I tried God of War Ghost of Sparta, Dantes Inferno, Dragon Ball Z Shin Budokai, DBZ Tenkaichi Tag Team, FF VII Crisis Core, and none of them are playable (either black screen, broken graphics or emulator crash while booting the game).

I'll give a try to those games you mentioned, and wait for future builds.

To watch my gameplays go to:
http://www.youtube.com/user/srdjan041
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkCA7Bx4k-7HkGC6U2ASSyQ
Buy PC games from Instant-Gaming at cheapest price on Internet trough my referral link:
[code]http://www.instant-gaming.com/igr/FS-FeNiX/[/code]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2016, 02:05 PM
Post: #24
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
Curious, at least Crisis Core should work pretty well, it does for me on nVidia. I guess we have some more pixel format issues to sort out, heh.

Vulkan's validation layer is supposed to get a new feature to check against the limitations of _other_ GPUs in the future, that should help once it's there...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2016, 05:44 PM
Post: #25
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
(03-24-2016 01:28 PM)Henrik Wrote:  [Unknown], not a big issue, we can change any 4444 format to any other by using swizzle in the ImageView objects. We should be able to get rid of all the color format conversions in TextureCacheVulkan.cpp, as well.

Ah, I was looking for the swizzle, and didn't see it like a fool. Of course, imageview is the most logical place for it to be.

565 we can do without even swizzling.

(03-25-2016 02:05 PM)Henrik Wrote:  Vulkan's validation layer is supposed to get a new feature to check against the limitations of _other_ GPUs in the future, that should help once it's there...

That sounds pretty great.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2016, 05:49 PM
Post: #26
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
(03-25-2016 02:05 PM)Henrik Wrote:  Curious, at least Crisis Core should work pretty well, it does for me on nVidia. I guess we have some more pixel format issues to sort out, heh.

Vulkan's validation layer is supposed to get a new feature to check against the limitations of _other_ GPUs in the future, that should help once it's there...

Crisis Core crashes when I press new game. Haven't tried with an save game, but I will.
I will try some of the games you mentioned, just to see will they work.

To watch my gameplays go to:
http://www.youtube.com/user/srdjan041
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkCA7Bx4k-7HkGC6U2ASSyQ
Buy PC games from Instant-Gaming at cheapest price on Internet trough my referral link:
[code]http://www.instant-gaming.com/igr/FS-FeNiX/[/code]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2016, 08:48 PM
Post: #27
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
(03-24-2016 06:05 PM)Inxile Wrote:  I enabled it to see how it ran, it flips the entire GUI upside and backwards or mirror image..at first I didn't realize what the heck caused it, had to install and remove config files t get back to normal

Got that same issue with the GUI on my Shield TV. Had turn myself upside down and just changed the setting back to openGL. Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2016, 11:54 PM
Post: #28
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
Right now, when you enable Vulkan on any Android device, it actually uses OpenGL. But it doesn't flip the display, which OpenGL requires.

This is because it's using the Java EGL init, which gets in the way of using Vulkan. Unfortunately, in 1.2.2 we reverted to the Java EGL init because some Android devices were crashing with the C++ EGL init code.

When using C++ EGL init, the display just flashes black and yellow still on a SHIELD TV, last I checked.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-26-2016, 05:06 PM
Post: #29
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
I'll fix it up next week (so that we skip the Java path when running Vulkan), and try to investigate why rendering doesn't work. It seems lots of other people are having success running Vulkan apps on Shield TV.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-26-2016, 10:46 PM
Post: #30
RE: Hows the Vulkan Backend Coming Along?
Does this with Vulkan enabled latest build on my LG G4 & Nvidia Shield TV
http://puu.sh/nV8x7/cc84f19377.png
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: