Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 3 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Final Fantasy II
03-04-2013, 05:40 PM (This post was last modified: 04-13-2013 08:43 AM by Nezarn.)
Post: #1
Final Fantasy II
Title: Final Fantasy II
Genre: JRPG
Region: EU
Format: ISO
Version: v0.7-620-g0ad9658
OS: Windows
Compatibility: Playable
Notes: Missing music, intro video, some minor graphics bug


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
           

PC Specs:
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6700 3.2 Ghz
4gb ddr3 ram
Geforce GTS 450 1 GB DDR3
Windows 7 x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2013, 08:28 AM
Post: #2
RE: Final Fantasy II
This can be moved to playable (v0.7-620-g0ad9658)

PC Specs:
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6700 3.2 Ghz
4gb ddr3 ram
Geforce GTS 450 1 GB DDR3
Windows 7 x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2013, 12:05 PM
Post: #3
RE: Final Fantasy II
(04-13-2013 08:28 AM)Nezarn Wrote:  This can be moved to playable (v0.7-620-g0ad9658)
Black screen on nexus 7 after the square enix logo

Windows 10 PC specs which is crap.
CPU = Intel Pentium D @ 3.4GHz
GPU = Nvidia Geforce 9500 GT
Storage = 128GB SSD, 500GB HDD and 320GB HDD.
2.5GB of DDR2 RAM
550W PSU
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2013, 03:11 PM
Post: #4
RE: Final Fantasy II
You have to press start before the video happens iirc. I'm not sure why yet, but it crashes otherwise.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2013, 03:35 PM
Post: #5
RE: Final Fantasy II
(04-13-2013 03:11 PM)[Unknown] Wrote:  You have to press start before the video happens iirc. I'm not sure why yet, but it crashes otherwise.

-[Unknown]

Thanks for the tip.

Windows 10 PC specs which is crap.
CPU = Intel Pentium D @ 3.4GHz
GPU = Nvidia Geforce 9500 GT
Storage = 128GB SSD, 500GB HDD and 320GB HDD.
2.5GB of DDR2 RAM
550W PSU
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-11-2013, 06:07 AM (This post was last modified: 05-11-2013 06:08 AM by solarmystic.)
Post: #6
RE: Final Fantasy II
Game's playable on the latest git revision v0.7.6-507-g90248d9 on Windows. Some graphical bugs on the characters remain. (twicthy characters at times.)

Specs are in signature.

PPSSPP Modern Testbed:-
Intel Core i5 4690K @ 4.0 GHz
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 760 2GB GDDR5 VRAM @ 1138/6500 Mhz
16 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1600 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1

PPSSPP Ancient Testing Rig:-
Intel Core 2 Duo T9550 @ 2.8GHz
ATI Mobility Radeon 4670 1GB GDDR3 VRAM @ 843/882 MHz
8 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1066 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-17-2013, 11:49 AM
Post: #7
RE: Final Fantasy II
The game still doesn't have any music, not to mention the sprite glitching. Is there any word on if this will be fixed anytime soon?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-17-2013, 07:27 PM
Post: #8
RE: Final Fantasy II
Download oioitff's build from here link is in the comments (download latest, download openmg 4.7, register filter) and you will have music. It works only on windows.

PC Specs:
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6700 3.2 Ghz
4gb ddr3 ram
Geforce GTS 450 1 GB DDR3
Windows 7 x64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-17-2013, 07:48 PM
Post: #9
RE: Final Fantasy II
(05-17-2013 07:27 PM)Nezarn Wrote:  Download oioitff's build from here link is in the comments (download latest, download openmg 4.7, register filter) and you will have music. It works only on windows.

Either it's still crashing, or hates it when you use the frame skip function.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-18-2013, 01:14 AM (This post was last modified: 05-18-2013 01:15 AM by solarmystic.)
Post: #10
RE: Final Fantasy II
Played a bit further on 0.7.6-624-windows.

Got to the world map.

Emulator started maxing out one core. FPS dropped to the 60s, which is still okay, normal and playable, but I had the customised framelimiter set to 90 for extra speed in battles. When in a battle FPS shot back up to 90 (200+ when totally uncapped). Going back into a town also resulted in FPS gains back to 90+.

Seems like the world map in FF II is really draining CPU power for some wierd reason, unlike the other FFs (I and III)

PPSSPP Modern Testbed:-
Intel Core i5 4690K @ 4.0 GHz
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 760 2GB GDDR5 VRAM @ 1138/6500 Mhz
16 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1600 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1

PPSSPP Ancient Testing Rig:-
Intel Core 2 Duo T9550 @ 2.8GHz
ATI Mobility Radeon 4670 1GB GDDR3 VRAM @ 843/882 MHz
8 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1066 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-18-2013, 03:08 AM (This post was last modified: 05-18-2013 03:08 AM by [Unknown].)
Post: #11
RE: Final Fantasy II
I get like 380 vps on the wold map (on a much more powerful box), but it's because of the animated water unfortunately... I'm sure it's really slow on Android too.

-[Unknown]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-18-2013, 03:52 AM (This post was last modified: 05-18-2013 04:00 AM by solarmystic.)
Post: #12
RE: Final Fantasy II
(05-18-2013 03:08 AM)[Unknown] Wrote:  I get like 380 vps on the wold map (on a much more powerful box), but it's because of the animated water unfortunately... I'm sure it's really slow on Android too.

-[Unknown]

Glad to know there's a reason for the relative "slowdown" in the world map compared to the other working FF games. Was worried there was something wrong with my system. (besides the fact that it's ancient)

PPSSPP Modern Testbed:-
Intel Core i5 4690K @ 4.0 GHz
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 760 2GB GDDR5 VRAM @ 1138/6500 Mhz
16 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1600 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1

PPSSPP Ancient Testing Rig:-
Intel Core 2 Duo T9550 @ 2.8GHz
ATI Mobility Radeon 4670 1GB GDDR3 VRAM @ 843/882 MHz
8 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1066 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-19-2013, 01:45 AM (This post was last modified: 05-19-2013 01:49 AM by solarmystic.)
Post: #13
RE: Final Fantasy II
There're some minor performance gains on the world map with revision 0.7.6-648 as compared to 0.7.6-627.

(70+ VPS compared to 60+ VPS)

I guess whatever Henrik did to fix the vertex shaders for Mali devices helped out in this game too.

EDIT:- It was just a placebo effect. I was comparing two different locations on the world map; one without animated water and one with it, which caused the difference.

PPSSPP Modern Testbed:-
Intel Core i5 4690K @ 4.0 GHz
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 760 2GB GDDR5 VRAM @ 1138/6500 Mhz
16 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1600 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1

PPSSPP Ancient Testing Rig:-
Intel Core 2 Duo T9550 @ 2.8GHz
ATI Mobility Radeon 4670 1GB GDDR3 VRAM @ 843/882 MHz
8 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1066 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2013, 08:50 PM
Post: #14
RE: Final Fantasy II
Hey guys, I just tried it out on Android (SGS3):
No music / sound effects (just rarely it happens that I hear one^^), crashes on opening vid unless I pressed start before that.
Speed is actually pretty nice already - inside houses 50-60 fps permanently, in villages and on world map ~30 fps.
It isn't really playable so far - especially due to missing sound but it looks promising for the future!

GT-I9300 | rooted | stock international 4.1.2 | overclocked on SiyahKernel s3-v1.9.1 (1,6 GHZ)|
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2013, 08:55 PM
Post: #15
RE: Final Fantasy II
(05-20-2013 08:50 PM)zarles1 Wrote:  Hey guys, I just tried it out on Android (SGS3):
No music / sound effects (just rarely it happens that I hear one^^), crashes on opening vid unless I pressed start before that.
Speed is actually pretty nice already - inside houses 50-60 fps permanently, in villages and on world map ~30 fps.
It isn't really playable so far - especially due to missing sound but it looks promising for the future!

Yeah, you gotta be quick with the start button before the intro video comes out when you start the game.

PPSSPP Modern Testbed:-
Intel Core i5 4690K @ 4.0 GHz
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 760 2GB GDDR5 VRAM @ 1138/6500 Mhz
16 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1600 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1

PPSSPP Ancient Testing Rig:-
Intel Core 2 Duo T9550 @ 2.8GHz
ATI Mobility Radeon 4670 1GB GDDR3 VRAM @ 843/882 MHz
8 GB DDR3 RAM @ 1066 MHz
Windows 7 x64 SP1
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: