forums.PPSSPP.org
Final Fantasy Type-0 - Printable Version

+- forums.PPSSPP.org (https://forums.ppsspp.org)
+-- Forum: PPSSPP - Playstation Portable Simulator Suitable for Playing Portably (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Commercial Games - Compatibility and Results (/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+---- Forum: Playable Games (/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+---- Thread: Final Fantasy Type-0 (/showthread.php?tid=1534)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - ZellFk - 06-12-2014 12:48 AM

Is the game running well only on v0.9.8-1088-ga31194a? Was using the first v0.9.8 release and the game crashed, so I downloaded the latest build v0.9.8-1145-ge657980 and when it crashes it completely freezes my PC (it's a Notebook HP DV6 with a dual core A4-3300M + 6750M), the latest version and the newer builds started crashing some games that worked before, don't know the reason (didn't update any drivers lately).

Got it working on v0.9.8-1088-ga31194a, but wish the game wasn't so buggy with non-buffered rendering (looks so good and it's so light), but after the explosion at the first scene with non-buffered the screen got completely black.


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - tintinmayo - 06-12-2014 01:05 AM

(06-12-2014 12:39 AM)[Unknown] Wrote:  
(06-11-2014 10:48 PM)Zantezuken Wrote:  
(06-11-2014 02:02 AM)[Unknown] Wrote:  If you're getting 20 FPS on an i7, you either have a really slow GPU, or your settings are too aggressive. Is it constant 20 FPS or only sometimes?

-[Unknown]
Pardon, forgot to specify - it just on ppsspp-v0.9.8-1088-ga31194a build

Clean 0.9.8 runs fine, just small bugs here and there.

There have been almost 1200 individual changes since 0.9.8, most of which fixing game bugs or improving performance or etc. But anyway, my understanding is that other people can run it fine with v0.9.8-1088-ga31194a, and the demo runs fine for me as well (in general.)

20 FPS is pretty bad for this game. What GPU do you have? I use an intentionally underclocked 9800 GT.

-[Unknown]

Just to chime in, I can pretty much pinpoint slowdown to texture scaling. I use a relatively capable but weak IGP (Ivy Bridge Intel HD graphics), and I have no problems running FF Type-0 on x3 resolution and FXAA. Smooth 30fps all around with minor dips to 28-29 from time to time. But as soon as I enable even the slightest amount of texture scaling, even on x2 resolution, I get below-20 dips in FPS on scenes that use effects (even the save menu screen, which has effects in the background)


FF Type-0 English patch is out - ilqsilqs - 06-12-2014 01:21 AM

Head on to skybladecloud.net


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - Django117 - 06-12-2014 02:05 AM

I'm having a very odd bug involving textures all of a sudden. I'm about 3 hours in on the merged ISO patched in english. After running around on the world map and then getting into a battle or entering a town I end up with textures wigging out. Sometimes my character is kinda transparent. Others the textures get randomly moved around and confused.

Here are some screenshots.
http ://imgur.com/a/jT2ar

Now to my settings. I'm using the build v0.9.8-1145-ge657980. Everything listed here is on. Everything not listed here is off.
---Graphics---
-Buffered Rendering
-Simulate block transfer

-Frameskipping - 2
-Auto Frameskip
-Prevent FPS from exceeding 60

-Rendering Resolution 8x PSP
-mipmapping
-Hardware Transform
-Software Skinning
-Spline/Bezier curves Quality - high

-upscale - 4x
-upscale type - xBRZ
-Deposterize

-Anisotropic Filtering - 8x
-Texture filtering - Auto


---System---
- Multithreaded

Any ideas as to what is causing this weird bug and how to fix it?


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - [Unknown] - 06-12-2014 02:11 AM

Yeah, that's not surprising. Texture scaling is expensive. There may be ways to improve it.

I don't use my IGP, but I think it shares system RAM. Texture scaling (especially above 2x) can start using quite a lot of VRAM, and if you're already amping up render resolution, you may burn through any limit fast. It may be worth checking your EFI settings to see what the max dynamic video memory allocation is.

That said, I think this game currently has a problem where texture scaling is hurting performance unexpectedly much.

-[Unknown]


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - denslife16 - 06-12-2014 03:58 AM

is it only me or do you experience when youre in the world map when youre going to the left side regions you end up somewhere on the sea? and the only choice is go back to the academy


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - [Unknown] - 06-12-2014 05:02 AM

So, I specifically checked. In the demo, in a fairly normal area, on my desktop:

1x render / no texture scaling: 282 MB VRAM (may be other apps, let's call this baseline.)
7x render / no texture scaling: 423 MB VRAM
10x render / no texture scaling: ~480 MB VRAM, unplayably slow
1x render / 3x texture scaling: 321 MB VRAM
1x render / 4x texture scaling 386 MB VRAM
7x render / 4x texture scaling 495 MB VRAM, still playable

Not super scientific numbers, but my point is just that both render resolution and texture scaling cost GPU memory. Also, both are exponential. 10x render resolution requires 100 times as much memory for render buffers. 5x texture scaling requires 25 times as much memory for textures (actually possibly more because scaling requires 16-bit textures to be converted to 32-bit, which doubles the memory requirement as a baseline.) Keep that in mind when choosing your quality settings.

Also, texture scaling will slow down every time a new texture is used and must be scaled, of course, but that's outside of sheer memory usage.

-[Unknown]


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - vendettared - 06-12-2014 05:07 AM

(06-12-2014 02:05 AM)Django117 Wrote:  I'm having a very odd bug involving textures all of a sudden. I'm about 3 hours in on the merged ISO patched in english. After running around on the world map and then getting into a battle or entering a town I end up with textures wigging out. Sometimes my character is kinda transparent. Others the textures get randomly moved around and confused.

Here are some screenshots.
http ://imgur.com/a/jT2ar

Now to my settings. I'm using the build v0.9.8-1145-ge657980. Everything listed here is on. Everything not listed here is off.
---Graphics---
-Buffered Rendering
-Simulate block transfer

-Frameskipping - 2
-Auto Frameskip
-Prevent FPS from exceeding 60

-Rendering Resolution 8x PSP
-mipmapping
-Hardware Transform
-Software Skinning
-Spline/Bezier curves Quality - high

-upscale - 4x
-upscale type - xBRZ
-Deposterize

-Anisotropic Filtering - 8x
-Texture filtering - Auto


---System---
- Multithreaded

Any ideas as to what is causing this weird bug and how to fix it?
Multithreaded is the culprit for the emergence of transparent characters. Disable it and it should be back to normal. Or at least it did for me.


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - zynecon - 06-12-2014 07:21 AM

[IMG]//i.imgur.com/XeFkggJ.jpg[/IMG]

therse a bug when i enter this room

blackscreen happens


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - Django117 - 06-12-2014 09:58 AM

(06-12-2014 05:07 AM)vendettared Wrote:  
(06-12-2014 02:05 AM)Django117 Wrote:  I'm having a very odd bug involving textures all of a sudden. I'm about 3 hours in on the merged ISO patched in english. After running around on the world map and then getting into a battle or entering a town I end up with textures wigging out. Sometimes my character is kinda transparent. Others the textures get randomly moved around and confused.

Here are some screenshots.
http ://imgur.com/a/jT2ar

Now to my settings. I'm using the build v0.9.8-1145-ge657980. Everything listed here is on. Everything not listed here is off.
---Graphics---
-Buffered Rendering
-Simulate block transfer

-Frameskipping - 2
-Auto Frameskip
-Prevent FPS from exceeding 60

-Rendering Resolution 8x PSP
-mipmapping
-Hardware Transform
-Software Skinning
-Spline/Bezier curves Quality - high

-upscale - 4x
-upscale type - xBRZ
-Deposterize

-Anisotropic Filtering - 8x
-Texture filtering - Auto


---System---
- Multithreaded

Any ideas as to what is causing this weird bug and how to fix it?
Multithreaded is the culprit for the emergence of transparent characters. Disable it and it should be back to normal. Or at least it did for me.

Thanks! That solved it. So since I'm notrunning multithreaded now is this going to hurt my performance?


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - Inzanity - 06-12-2014 11:59 AM

No, not really. As people mentioned multiple times before your post:

The main culprit in bad performance is Texture Scaling and Render Resolution. But thats pretty obvious because these eat the most VRAM. (Its the same for every emulator, like PCSX2)

Dont use Multi threading and be careful with certain Post Processing on the World Map. Adjusting Internal Clock Speed can help. Dont use cheat codes, unless ure smart about it and especially dont use any 60 fps codes.


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - Django117 - 06-12-2014 01:25 PM

(06-12-2014 11:59 AM)Inzanity Wrote:  No, not really. As people mentioned multiple times before your post:

The main culprit in bad performance is Texture Scaling and Render Resolution. But thats pretty obvious because these eat the most VRAM. (Its the same for every emulator, like PCSX2)

Dont use Multi threading and be careful with certain Post Processing on the World Map. Adjusting Internal Clock Speed can help. Dont use cheat codes, unless ure smart about it and especially dont use any 60 fps codes.

Oh no... I'm using a 60FPS code... what will happen?


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - zynecon - 06-12-2014 01:59 PM

so much lag on the arena.....

im using the 1149 build .... it hangs then exits the ppsspp..... multithread is off

i check fast memory ... it gained a little speed ...but then it suddenly exits the ppsspp...


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - vnctdj - 06-12-2014 02:54 PM

(06-12-2014 01:21 AM)ilqsilqs Wrote:  Head on to skybladecloud.net

Merged.


RE: Final Fantasy Type-0 - nightmesh - 06-12-2014 04:35 PM

Did anyone here just play multiplayer on coldbird server with a guy name nightmesh? I put my router into a mode kinda like dmz and though I'd give coldbird server a try again and while playing the game someone joined my game. Their name was mastue or matse, something along those lines. If anyone else has dmz going for them could they try connecting to the server and joining my game if they see one up. I'm in the chatzy room if you wanna test it out together.

http://us21.chatzy.com/53406607553012